Feedback from a first-time user

Page 1 of 1 (14 items)
This post has 13 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 13392
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Feb 29 2016 4:11 AM

I'm a long-time user of Logos Bible Software, our church will be using Proclaim from Sunday, so this week I've been setting things up for the first time. I thought you might find it helpful to have some feedback from an inexperienced user (we're moving from PowerPoint, so I have no experience of similar software).

Our team love the simplicity and speed of Proclaim. It will save us hours of work. We also love the fact that collaboration is built in. These two things are more than enough to convince us that Proclaim is the right choice for us, so read the criticisms below in the light of that :-). The webinar/tutorial videos only took a few minutes to watch, but were more than enough to help me understand how Proclaim works, and get me going.

First, when I installed Proclaim it told me that my demo licence had expired (that was true, I downloaded it briefly in 2014), and I had an option to watermark, or pay. I chose to watermark — however, the presentation isn't watermarked, and I even have access to Pro media. I'm not complaining, I just found that confusing. [On reflection, this was probably because I changed groups (see below).]

Second, I really couldn't make sense of the groups. I'm still not sure I've got it right. I couldn't find any help for this, and the "getting started" videos don't cover it. Essentially, I created a Church Group, and then expected to be able to select that under Presentation Group. It appears instead that I have to create both a Church Group and a Presentation Group, and that the two are related in some way. I feel that there should have been some kind of wizard to help me through that setup process, and give me confidence that it's correct.