Help understanding logos course and how to use

Page 1 of 2 (25 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 24 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 4706
Mattillo | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Apr 30 2016 5:54 AM

Could someone help me understand how exactly to use a logos bible course. Earlier this week I posted about a free course (https://community.logos.com/forums/t/125722.aspx ) and this is my first time using one. It seems to me that all a (or in this specific one) course is, is 60 or so 4 minute videos with links to resources. I'm a gold user but in the first session after the intro, none of the suggested reading is open, as a gold user wouldn't own any of them. I don't mean to sound cynical but is all a course is, is a way to sell more resources? 

I haven't been to college in a while but in my past experience, usually there is one or two main books that you work of.  Am I doing this wrong?

Posts 12076
Forum MVP
NB.Mick | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Apr 30 2016 6:34 AM

Mattillo:
It seems to me that all a (or in this specific one) course is, is 60 or so 4 minute videos with links to resources

The Mobile.Ed courses are videos, a textbook with transcript accompanying the videos, and an audio version of the videos. So you get - according to the product page - six hours of video training by Professor Darrell Bock, a world renowned scholar. The textbook would probably be several hundred pages if printed as a book.

Included into the courses are some Logos usage training sections, unit quizzes (multiple choice) and two exams. 

Regarding the "suggested reading" and "see also" books, the courses I've seen so far don't interact with these, so there is no strong emphasis on selling those. Each course has a Faithlife group which shares a note file for these additional readings and a spreadsheet giving the names of those resources and how often each are referenced. Often, they give three or four suggestions that treat the same material, but one wouldn't need to have all of them.