Somewhat OT: Greek is Killing Me! Any Suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 (31 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 30 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 1942
Joseph Turner | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Jun 8 2016 5:52 PM

I am in my first semester of Greek online through Liberty University.  My text is Mounce, and I have all of the Zondervan language resources through Logos, including most other available language resources/lexicons.  I am in the fourth week and will be finished with Chapter 12 by the end of this week.  I teach English, so my knowledge of grammar has been helpful, but the memory work is starting to stress me out severely.  I just hit the 3rd Declension endings, and my brain is about to explode.  

I have been using the Logos Flash Cards app with Mounce word lists, and that has been helpful, and I have also been using Danny Zacharias' Parse Greek, which has also been very helpful.  Does anyone have any tips on ways to more easily/efficiently memorize such concepts?  I am doing well so far, but I am starting to get bogged down with so much so fast, and I am afraid that I will have a nervous breakdown by the time I hit verbs.  Is it normal to be this stressed out?

Disclaimer:  I hate using messaging, texting, and email for real communication.  If anything that I type to you seems like anything other than humble and respectful, then I have not done a good job typing my thoughts.

Posts 6477
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 8 2016 5:57 PM

I feel your pain Joseph. Many a young lady in college felt that Greek took their boyfriends. We called it "lady Greek".

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 2465
Lee | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 8 2016 6:03 PM

Joseph Turner:

Is it normal to be this stressed out?

Chill out. It's normal.

Posts 138
LogosEmployee
Clifford Kvidahl | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 8 2016 6:55 PM