So Here's One for You! How would you Research This?

Page 1 of 2 (27 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 26 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 809
Cynthia in Florida | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Sep 22 2016 4:26 PM

So I'm studying the Gospel of John...which, BTW...is my new favorite book (I say that of every book I'm studying).Smile

Okay, so I came upon John 1:41 where Jesus names Simon Cephas, which John lets us know means Peter (Petros) in the Greek.

Okay, so I looked up Cephas and to my surprise, it is NOT a Hebrew name, but a Syriac name.  This peeked my interest.  I discovered that the Syriac language was a form of the Aramaic language, which was a part of the NW Semitic Languages.

This has, for some reason, peeked my interest.  Why didn't Jesus choose a full-fledged Hebrew name for Peter?

So, what steps would you take to find out more about this?  I'm not too sure where to go from here.

BTW...Simon (his birth name, means hearing  It's interesting that Jesus would change his name from hearing to rock.

Want to know something else really cool from observing the text of chapter one?

In the same chapter, when John described Jesus, he called him Lamb of God, Man, and Son of Man.

When Andrew met Jesus, he first called him Rabbi.  He spent one day with Jesus and the next day he called Him Messiah.

Philip met Jesus and he called him The One whom Moses and the Prophets wrote about, Jesus of Nazareth

Nathaniel met Jesus and calls Him Rabbi, Son of God, the King of Israel.

Peter...when he met Jesus...well nothing is recorded that he called Christ anything, but Jesus called him something...He changed his name to Cephas.

Something to think about, huh?

Cynthia

Romans 8:28-38

Posts 334
Paul Strickert | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Sep 22 2016 4:30 PM

Cynthia, I had a seminary professor who was convinced Cephas was someone different than Simon Peter.  While you're doing your research, maybe you could tackle that one.  ;)

Posts 809