Question: Anyone have any experience or could any Logos employee tell us what happens when syncing two different machines if one has been offline while making changes?

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 18828
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Mar 24 2010 6:02 PM

For example: I took my laptop to the Morris Proctor Logos Training Seminar, but we had no Internet access in the room. So I was cheerfully making all kinds of changes to some collections I had as he stepped us through that part of the seminar. I haven't had a chance to sync up my laptop to the web since coming back from Seattle, but I have logged on to L4 on my desktop and downloaded all the latest updates. I've also been tweaking collections.

How does Logos handle it when syncing one particular machine with the server if another machine has synced up and made changes to the same thing? Do the changes get merged somehow? (I.e., suppose on my laptop I added book A to Collection C and on my desktop I deleted book B from collection C; I synced my laptop to the server first, then my desktop. Then my laptop again. What will the resulting collection be? Will it have book A? Will B have been deleted?) If merging does occur, what if there is an irreconcilable collision? What if I changed the rating on one resource to 3 stars on my laptop and 4 stars on my desktop. Does the one who syncs first get priority for keeping its version or the one who syncs last?

Posts 25288
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Mar 24 2010 7:08 PM

I've been offline for periods up to two weeks and when online those changes have propagated as I expected to my other computer which had been switched off when I was away. Changes to Collections are not merged. At worst (with 4.0b) a duplicate is generated eg. mycollect(2) and you have to decide which one is correct (the issue of duplicate Collections has vastly improved since a couple of bugs were fixed in 4.0b beta, else you would have a plethora of duplicates after your tweaking. But if either of your machines is 4.0a  you will have some dupes).

I suspect star ratings are timestamped (as with other preferences/documents) but it would be wise to sync your laptop before switching on the other machine.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 1692
LogosEmployee
Bob Pritchett | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Mar 25 2010 8:00 AM

Most documents have a "whole document" sync granularity, and in general we try to avoid data loss. So if you modify the same document on two machines that are disconnected, and then sync, you'll probably see a duplicate document created. (In notes, there's a "per note" granularity, though if you mess around a lot with note order in the same doc on two machines that aren't syncing, and then sync, you may find a "last edit wins" situation.)

(Everything is also coded by GMT, so it's not who syncs first, it's who has the most recent edit, if something comes down to time.)

Posts 2936
Forum MVP
Jacob Hantla | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Mar 25 2010 10:18 AM

Bob Pritchett:

Most documents have a "whole document" sync granularity, and in general we try to avoid data loss. So if you modify the same document on two machines that are disconnected, and then sync, you'll probably see a duplicate document created. (In notes, there's a "per note" granularity, though if you mess around a lot with note order in the same doc on two machines that aren't syncing, and then sync, you may find a "last edit wins" situation.)

(Everything is also coded by GMT, so it's not who syncs first, it's who has the most recent edit, if something comes down to time.)

I've asked this before...would it be possible to make a conflict prompt come up to ask us which changes we want to keep. The options should be:

  1. Let one document prevail over another
  2. Merge (for notes and clippings) where changes were made on two separate entries)
  3. Create duplicate documents (the current default behavior, which I expect would be the least chosen option if this conflict prompt were initiated).

The current system is just not helpful as it forces us to go to the file menu and delete one of the documents. Many of my less-tech-savvy friends and family using Logos would never do this and I'm sure given some time would have a file menu looking like this: note file, note file (1), note file (2), note file (3), note file (4)...note file (n). 

Jacob Hantla
Pastor/Elder, Grace Bible Church
gbcaz.org

Page 1 of 1 (4 items) | RSS