Searching one resource with another?

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 49
Mike Hogue | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Jun 2 2018 7:32 AM

I'm studying the Psalms and recently obtained the Dictionary of Biblical Imagery...it would be nice if I could take a Psalm, build a word list for that Psalm, and then find all of the words that have entries in my dictionary. Is there a way to do that?  Can the concordance tool somehow be leveraged to search (or find an intersection somehow) with the entry titles in the other work?

This seems like it would be a good way to save time while ensuring thorough research...

Posts 23214
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 2 2018 7:58 AM

Mike Hogue:
I'm studying the Psalms and recently obtained the Dictionary of Biblical Imagery...it would be nice if I could take a Psalm, build a word list for that Psalm, and then find all of the words that have entries in my dictionary. Is there a way to do that?  Can the concordance tool somehow be leveraged to search (or find an intersection somehow) with the entry titles in the other work?

Interesting idea - but I can't think of any way of doing it directly.

Some things to try.

The Concordance Tool could provide the reverse of what I think you are asking but it could still be useful.

Here I've run the Concordance on the dictionary you mentioned, selected "Reference" and opened the entry to Psalm 1. This shows all the times the dictionary makes a reference to that particular Psalm. So it isn't matching on words but might go some way towards what you are looking for

In a Search you can specify multiple search terms. In the example below I am searching for three terms but only requesting a match if they are Headings in the dictionary. If you were able to create a list of this form to act as input into the search panel it could give what you want.

Do either of these help at all?

Posts 49