Update asks for admin login; uninstalled, new install same

Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 200
Dudley C Rose | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Feb 25 2019 7:45 AM

Suddenly I began getting a admin login dialog box on Windows 10 laptop when trying to install a Logos.update. Finally uninstalled Logos, but a new install still calls for admin login. Logs attached, I think.

5076.logs190225.zip

Posts 199
Roy | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 25 2019 11:23 AM

Sometimes (often! Super Angry ) when Windows installs an update, the update process resets the UAC (User Account Control) settings. You can check to see where the level is currently set.

When you click on the start menu type UAC and press ENTER.

Choose Change User Account Control Settings from the available choices.

You will see a dialog box something like this... 

If the setting is one of the top three, Windows WILL ask you for permission.

This is by design and is meant for your computers safety to keep malicious programs from trashing your system.

Having it turned off as I do here is NOT RECOMENDED!

The Software Help Desk I used to work for had us turning this off all of the time for clients when ever M$ would roll out an update and we had to reinstall our software on their system.

EDIT:

This next screen shot is the default (Recommended) setting. Also note, to change the setting you have to click and SLIDE the control. Just clicking on a new location along the control will not change anything.

Posts 200
Dudley C Rose | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 25 2019 1:58 PM

Thanks Roy. This is a University machine without user Admin privileges, so when I attempt to make the changes you suggest, I get the same dialog for an Admin login. But I've been able before to install Logos updates.

Roy:

Sometimes (often! Super Angry ) when Windows installs an update, the update process resets the UAC (User Account Control) settings. You can check to see where the level is currently set.

When you click on the start menu type UAC and press ENTER.

Choose Change User Account Control Settings from the available choices.

You will see a dialog box something like this... 

If the setting is one of the top three, Windows WILL ask you for permission.

This is by design and is meant for your computers safety to keep malicious programs from trashing your system.

Having it turned off as I do here is NOT RECOMENDED!

The Software Help Desk I used to work for had us turning this off all of the time for clients when ever M$ would roll out an update and we had to reinstall our software on their system.

EDIT:

This next screen shot is the default (Recommended) setting. Also note, to change the setting you have to click and SLIDE the control. Just clicking on a new location along the control will not change anything.

Posts 315
LogosEmployee
Joe McCune (Faithlife) | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 25 2019 2:36 PM

Dudley C. Rose:

This is a University machine without user Admin privileges, so when I attempt to make the changes you suggest, I get the same dialog for an Admin login. But I've been able before to install Logos updates

Hi Dudley,

I am sorry to hear that you are struggling with this.  This certainly sounds like some kind of permissions issue.  If you do not have Admin privilege, I would ask your University's Support Team for help with this.

Page 1 of 1 (4 items) | RSS