using Logos for theological research

Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 20 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 10
Chris adamou | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Mar 1 2019 11:07 AM

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Logos and recently bought the Platinum library (plus a ton of other books).

I'm hoping to use Logos to help me with my Bible college assignments.

Unfortunately customer services have not been very helpful and have pointed me in the direction of the forums for help.

One of the questions I've been given for my assignment is:

What is the most plausible explanation for why some of the original recipients of 1 Corinthians did not believe in the resurrection of the dead?

How would you approach this in Logos? I've been trying trying to search for specific terms such as "corinthian philosophy" and "resurrection of the dead" and so on, but not been able to get much helpful information.

Any advice?

Blessings

Chris

Posts 491
J. Remington Bowling | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 1 2019 11:28 AM

Others on the forum can probably give a lot better answers than me...  but if this question were posed to me the first place I might look is in a commentary. I might start with the sort of commentary that provides material from other sources (the Faithlife Study Bible (click the + icon and read the suggested dictionaries and encyclopedias) or the Lexham Bible Guide or the Exegetical Summary series) and then move to other quality commentaries: NIGTC and BECNT.

Then I would also consult some encyclopedias and dictionaries on the resurrection (two are suggested in the Faithlife Study Bible in this case). 

BTW, I think N.T. Wright has a slightly different reading of this passage than usual. I'll try to find it.

Posts 13368
Forum MVP
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 1 2019 11:36 AM

Chris adamou:
Unfortunately customer services have not been very helpful and have pointed me in the direction of the forums for help.