What makes a work timeless?

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 114
Chris Belmonte | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Mar 13 2019 8:00 AM

Is there any sort of itemized list of what makes a work "timeless"? I realize the more general it is, the easier it is to accomplish. I think Mere Christianity will be read by Christians 400 years from now, just like Shakespeare has been read for 400 years, and will almost certainly be read another 400 years into the future. (Assuming we make it that far!)

Posts 515
Hamilton Ramos | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Mar 14 2019 7:25 AM

Hi Chris:

Interesting question, a work considered timeless: what makes it so?

Not being an expert, I would think more of the recipients (audience) of the work, as they are the ones that will give the verdict.

If someone is an indoctrinated product of a particular sect, most likely what the founder / leaders write will be considered timeless.

Then there is those that consciously want to be in Jesus Christ's side: they would search the Scriptures to see what is the correct way to come to judgment as of the timelessness of a work:

Jesus asked to a man that wanted to know about things of God: "what do you read, how do you interpret Scriptures?" [rough paraphrase].

Note that Jesus did not ask: what did Gamaliel say?, what is the doctrine of the Saduccees?, what is the commentary of the Pharisees?

So taking the whole counsel of God as base, we can come to some conjectures:

1) we are to be like noble synagogue Bereans, searching the Scriptures to see if things are so... should not contradict what is written.

2) we are to pray and fast when looking for the illumination of the Holy Spirit to understand His intended message for the believer (The Holy Spirit has His own context that transcends ethnicity, historical-cultural background, language, etc.), thus He is the one that can correctly interpret for us, given our different historical context.