OT - How do you preach?

Page 1 of 2 (24 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 23 Replies | 5 Followers

Posts 299
Robert Mullen | Forum Activity | Posted: Sun, Jun 6 2010 1:50 PM

I am a layman but my mind has really been drawn to preaching lately. I have a question for those of you in the pulpit regularly: How do you prepare to preach? I am not talking about your research and sermon construction but more what happens after your sermon is significantly complete. How many pastors preach from outlines alone? Notes alone? Outlines and notes? Does anyone free form? I am curious how you prepare to keep your mind on track when you are in front of your congregation. I am not overly afraid of speaking but suffer the same nervousness that most folks suffer before a crowd. My voice gets a little hitch sometimes and my mind can get off track which brings the train to a screeching halt. Do any of you still suffers these things after regular preaching? Do you use tricks to recover if you wander in the pulpit? Preparation tricks to keep your focus?

I hope this is OK to ask here, I really don't know where else to ask it.

Posts 19119
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jun 6 2010 2:03 PM