Who Fascinates you in church history?

Page 2 of 2 (29 items) < Previous 1 2
This post has 28 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 784
Cynthia in Florida | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 29 2019 4:47 PM

Okay, I have spent a fair amount of time looking at these suggestions and resources.  WOW there are some really great ones!  Ben, your suggestions really intrigued me...all three of them!  Erasmus probably the most, but I feel as if I might be repeating my paper a bit on Abelard, which shows me I'm drawn to the scholarly types! LOL

I am particularly interested in Henrietta Mears. I actually have some books by her and find her "no nonsense" approach to Bible study really refreshing in this world of fluff (sorry...a tiny rant there).  

I remain open for any other suggestions.   

Cynthia

Romans 8:28-38

Posts 1328
Ben | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 29 2019 5:53 PM

I have my PhD exams in a week: History of Science, American Religious History, and Reformation History, so I've been getting a really broad overview, and getting to know those I named. Glad they were of interest. 

"The whole modern world has divided itself into Conservatives and Progressives. The business of Progressives is to go on making mistakes. The business of Conservatives is to prevent mistakes from being corrected."- G.K. Chesterton

Posts 8798
Forum MVP
Bruce Dunning | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 29 2019 6:03 PM

Ben:
I have my PhD exams in a week

All the best on your exams.

Using adventure and community to challenge young people to continually say "yes" to God

Posts 2161
Beloved | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 29 2019 6:04 PM

Hildegard von Bingen was a force of nature and ahead of her times. Surprisingly she has not been mentioned already. Her Selected Writings are available in Kindle format. Best wishes to you in your studies, Cynthia. 

Meanwhile, Jesus kept on growing wiser and more mature, and in favor with God and his fellow man.