Fusion Drive Hardware Question

Page 1 of 1 (20 items)
This post has 19 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 54
Chris Funkhouser | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Jan 15 2020 8:06 AM

For all the much more tech minded Logos users out there I have a question. I have been using a 2011 i5 processed iMac for several years now and it has started becoming very slow. 

I have the opportunity to upgrade to a 27” used iMac for a reasonable cost that comes with a 128GB SSD/1 TB Hdd Fusion drive and either a 3.2 i5 or a 4.0 i7 processor. I can afford either of those models.

My question is two fold:

1. Is the Fusion drive a sufficient ssd upgrade to increase Logos performance or does everything of logos need to be on a SDD? (My library is in excess of 10,000 resources now)

2. If the Fusion drive is sufficient is it worth $150 extra to have the faster processor? 

I appreciate any input I can get here. You guys rock in sacrificially giving your time and opinions to make Logos a more user friendly tool!

Posts 28229
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 15 2020 9:00 AM

A fusion drive is not an SSD  and you can’t control what goes onto the SSD portion. I would be worried about performance. The only way to really know would be to have someone test identical systems with identical accounts. This would be a great question for FL if they had two such systems. 

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 54
Chris Funkhouser | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 15 2020 9:14 AM

So then do you think I would get just as much performance upgrade by changing out my computer’s current HDD for a 1 TB SDD? 

Posts 3538
Forum MVP
PetahChristian | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 15 2020 9:19 AM

Chris Funkhouser:
Is the Fusion drive a sufficient ssd upgrade to increase Logos performance

No. A Fusion drive keeps frequently accessed files on the SSD portion, which won't necessarily be Logos files.

Chris Funkhouser:
does everything of logos need to be on a SDD?