What are your top 3-5 resources in the different categories?

Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers

Posts 150
Tony Walker | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Jan 25 2020 5:43 AM

I thought I would get some feedback from those who know much more than I do. This isn't scientific, just curious for those more familiar with the tools than I am, what would you pick as the top few items in each category if that is all you had to work with. What would be your top English translations, top study Bibles, your top one-volume commentaries, your top commentary series sets, your top dictionaries, and encyclopedias, etc?

Thanks for any input. I plan to use the info to look at what resources I should prioritize and get more familiar with resources that people deem valuable. (I am a youth pastor and in my first year of MDiv studies.)

Posts 363
Batman | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jan 31 2020 12:21 AM

Bibles, I like
NIV/TNIV
Lexham
ESV
HCSB

Hopefully you have a good sense of the original languages, so you can add the Biblica Hebraica and a Greek NT. 

Books I really like DA Carson's Exegetical Fallacies. 

Commentaries I like Life Application Bible Commentary series. 

Mobile Ed I like Introduction to Biblical Hebrew Mark Futato and will be going through Introduction to Biblical Greek Mark Schwandt, and am hoping Introducing the Old Testament: It's Structure and Story will be a good refresher course on how the OT is structured (as the title implies), because understanding how the OT is written, it's various styles has made a profound difference in my understanding how to interpret the Bible, and what's going on "behind the scenes". For example, had I not known of it's parallel and thematic arrangement, I would never have realized that Joshua 15 and Judges 1 are the same story, and happen after Joshua had died, since his death is not recorded until Joshua chapter 24. Stick out tongueConfused