opening Logos to same start page on two computers.

Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
This post has 11 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 8
Donald McKinnon | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Jan 19 2021 2:33 PM

I'm wondering if it is possible to open LOGOS 9 to the same pages I was on with my laptop at home to my desktop at the church office? 

Posts 25127
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2021 3:19 PM

Donald McKinnon:

I'm wondering if it is possible to open LOGOS 9 to the same pages I was on with my laptop at home to my desktop at the church office? 

In Program Settings try setting At Startup Open to -> Most recent layout - any

Posts 26954
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 20 2021 10:45 PM

If you adopt the suggestion above:

  • you have to log out at one location before opening Logos at the other;
  • both computers will use the same layout

Else you can save the resources by dragging into Favorites on one and opening from there in the other.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 2852
Kevin A. Purcell | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 5:26 AM

The Most recent layout - any setting in my experience doesn't work very often. I didn't know about having to log out and then back in to make it work. If that's the case by design its a bad design. If its a bug is needs to be fixed. Since I often switch between 3 computers (Laptop, Home Desktop and Church Desktop) I wish it did work better.

Posts 2730
LogosEmployee
Andrew Batishko | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 7:14 AM

Dave Hooton:
you have to log out at one location before opening Logos at the other

The "last layout" is saved when the application exits, not when you log out.

Andrew Batishko | Faithlife software developer

Posts 2852
Kevin A. Purcell | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 7:33 AM

Still doesn't work very often.

Posts 2730
LogosEmployee
Andrew Batishko | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 7:44 AM

The application syncs data to the server on exit. This happens invisibly after you close the window (though if it takes "too long", then a syncing window will appear). If you suspended your computer (close the lid) immediately upon exit, then this might prevent the application from syncing the last layout. Alternatively, if your application was silently crashing on exit, then it might also prevent the sync.

A log file from the machine that should be saving the layout might give some indication of a problem.

Andrew Batishko | Faithlife software developer

Posts 517
Nord Zootman | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 7:44 AM

It consistently works for me. I am on Pcs with windows 10.

Posts 29728
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 8:13 AM

Kevin A. Purcell:
Still doesn't work very often.

I know that you utilize a number of devices... What is your primary usage? Windows? Laptops? I would think that this feature would work best for someone who has two desktops, steady and reliable internet, and closes the app regularly after use. 

If someone is on two laptops, internet coming in and out regularly, shuts the lid without allowing the LONG closing process to continue? It probably wouldn't work at all! 

macOS, iOS & iPadOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 16
Thomas Winter | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 10:31 AM

Kevin,
I have noticed the same issue, too.  I "Update current Layout" then close after a few seconds. It's hit or miss when I re-open on another computer, but...it DOES show in the layout history, so I can open that and then update current layout on the other computer.  I've notice this issue for awhile, too, and it's arbitrary as to when it happens.  You know it's a glitch when it has a record of the layout you saved on the other computer.

Posts 26954
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 4:59 PM

Andrew Batishko (Faithlife):

Dave Hooton:
you have to log out at one location before opening Logos at the other

The "last layout" is saved when the application exits, not when you log out.

Terminology!  "exit" or "close" was what I intended.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 26954
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jan 21 2021 5:44 PM

Thomas Winter:
I have noticed the same issue, too.  I "Update current Layout" then close after a few seconds. It's hit or miss when I re-open on another computer,

Update Active Layout works differently to automatically saving on exit that is discussed above...

Thomas Winter:
but...it DOES show in the layout history,

Yes, you can manually open it from Layouts > Saved Layouts. But you have to maintain a strict discipline of manually saving on one computer and manually opening on another (you don't have to close/open Logos).  

When Logos is started it uses the Tools > Program Setting that you have for At startup open to.  If you want to always open a fixed layout then choose a layout name from the drop-down menu. This will save you manually opening the layout, but you otherwise have to maintain the strict save/open layout discipline.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS