Clippings, Notes and Passage List: any or all of them?

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 38
Tim Bader | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Oct 13 2010 6:12 AM

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to Logos 4 (less than a week) but certainly like what I've seen so far.

I've looked through a lot of the information on this site, the forums and the wiki and I can see how to use Notes, Clippings, etc.

However, what I am finding a little confusing is when I should use these different tools?

-and also, how/if I can use them in conjunction with, say the handouts tool?

For example, I can see how Notes are specific to a bible verse but Clippings could be from any resource, but why is there also the passage list option as well?

What can it do that Clippings/Notes can't?

Sorry that's a lot of questions!

Thanks in advance,

Tim

Posts 23662
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 13 2010 6:23 AM

Hi Tim

Welcome to the forums

Tim Bader:
However, what I am finding a little confusing is when I should use these different tools?

The discussion on http://community.logos.com/forums/p/22633/168845.aspx provides some useful thoughts on this.

Tim Bader:
-and also, how/if I can use them in conjunction with, say the handouts tool?

can you be a bit more specific in what you are wanting to do here? Also, please be aware that there is a significant rewrite of the handout tool planned, but we don't know when it will be available.

Tim Bader:
For example, I can see how Notes are specific to a bible verse but Clippings could be from any resource, but why is there also the passage list option as well?

The passage list is great for pulling together all the Bible verses used within a section of a resource, a web page, a text file, etc and so has quite a specific purpose. There is also the ability to perform operations on Passage Lists such as merging or comparing which is very powerful.