Which Library to buy?

Page 1 of 1 (16 items)
This post has 15 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 5
Trey | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Oct 28 2010 7:34 AM

So I am in my first semester at seminary and I have been thinking about purchasing Logos for quite some time. I finally received a gift of money which would be able to help me purchase the product. I was thinking of purchasing the Scholar's library until I started looking into the certain books that came with it. Quite a few of them are more on the conservative side. I know this is a hard term to be defined and when looking throughout the forum I saw many different viewpoints. The fact that it is more conservative does not bother me, however, I am looking for more books that are on the liberal side/neutral side. Not saying that I cannot learn from someone who may be more conservative, but I do not want my library to be one sided. Are there any suggestions for a Mainline Protestant (Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) on which Commentaries/Dictionaries/etc. I should be looking into?

I was not sure if it would be cheaper to pick up the leaders library and build up my own library, or stick with the scholars (since it does have ancient text) and go from there. Money is an issue though, as I do not have a large amount to spare. Any help would be appreciated. :)

Posts 1359
Edwin Bowden | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Oct 28 2010 7:47 AM

Base pkgs are always the best buy. Don't worry abut the volumes that you don't think you'll use. Count up what you will use.

It's best to buy the largest pkg you can afford.

Do you know about the Academic discount?

Posts 3917
Forum MVP
Friedrich | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Oct 28 2010 7:51 AM