How can I use the best software at the best price?

Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 22 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 134
L.D. Young | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Aug 8 2011 8:20 AM

Forgive me if I don't get all the details right on how things work. I'm still learning.

Recently I've seen several threads criticizing Logos pricing and I have to confess that I've shared my disappointment in at least one thread. But over the course of time I've gotten to know Logos a little better and now I believe that with Logos it's all a matter of timing, patience and good stewardship.

Examples:

Timing: Community Pricing and Pre-Pub specials are great if you happen to be a customer and paying attention at the time.

Patience: Sooner or later "most" things seem to go on sale where Logos prices are very competitive for what THIS software can do. Sometimes you can even find prices close to their Pre-Pub price but it seems to me that if you miss out on CP pricing you will never see prices that low again.

Stewardship: Only buy what you need and can afford. Sometimes it seems like "We never knew what it was to covet until we found Logos".

The only real problem I see is missing out on great CP pricing. Once I miss a CP offering I just can't see paying a hundred dollars or more for what I can get for free online (minus some of the great study and search options of course, but still good stewardship to me. I also hold to the same standard for purchasing hard cover books when I can find them online for free). If there's nothing that Logos can do to help me I understand and can accept that I just missed out. But Logos does seem to try to go the extra mile to help their customers.