How do i force a save of note files.

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 164
Rick Harrell | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Dec 28 2011 9:41 AM

I have been having issues with my laptop shutting down at inopportune times and last night I lost  a note file - is there a way to force a save?

 

Thanks.

Posts 9947
George Somsel | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Dec 28 2011 9:51 AM

Rick Harrell:

I have been having issues with my laptop shutting down at inopportune times and last night I lost  a note file - is there a way to force a save?

 

Thanks.

Not that I am aware of.  I've never heard of losing a note file (other than my own rather bizarre experience).  Changes to any note are generally saved as soon as you enter them (which is probably why they can be frustratingly non-responsive).

george
gfsomsel

יְמֵי־שְׁנוֹתֵינוּ בָהֶם שִׁבְעִים שָׁנָה וְאִם בִּגְבוּרֹת שְׁמוֹנִים שָׁנָה וְרָהְבָּם עָמָל וָאָוֶן

Posts 1281
toughski | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Dec 28 2011 9:58 AM

I believe that notes, clippings, reading plans, collections, etc are saved within seconds (developers may give an exact time frame) of you typing them in. There is very little probability of losing any of the user created content.

also there is no manual way to save notes. you can force-sync them to Logos cloud servers by clicking on the synchronize arrows to the left of Layouts menu in the top right corner. This would effectively do an online backup

Posts 4768
Forum MVP
Fred Chapman | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Dec 28 2011 10:35 AM

Rick,

I am not sure how that is possible in L4. Notes are saved as soon as the file is created and then each entry is saved as it is entered. Check your "History" tool under the Tools tab. Your should be able to find the note file you were working in there.

Posts 164
Rick Harrell | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Dec 28 2011 10:48 AM

Thanks Fred - not there either, and there is no history for the reference I was looking at (morning and evening).

 

Posts 10739
Forum MVP
Jack Caviness | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Dec 29 2011 3:04 AM

I believe a note is saved locally when you exit the edit field. It is then saved to the Logos servers (aka the Cloud) when the next synch operation is completed, which usually occurs frequently when editing notes.

In case of a crash—your laptop shutting down—it would depend upon the state of this saving operation at that moment whether the note was saved or not. If synch is not complete, that note may be lost, but the other notes in the same file should be intact.

Page 1 of 1 (6 items) | RSS