Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 20 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 1
William | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Nov 10 2009 11:49 AM

Hi Im hearing a lot of comments about the alpha 2 version and was wondering if its usable?.  Im new to logos and bible software, and I want to buy the leaders bible software option, my question is if I bought this can I use it at this time?.

I read that I can test the current engine at the moment?.  

Really want to know about whether the product will work if bought at this time or if its better to wait?.

Thanks.

Posts 1931
Donovan R. Palmer | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 10 2009 12:09 PM

Welcome to Logos!

You can test the current L4 Mac (Alpha) engine and it is reported on here that it is improving weekly. However, as far as doing much useful with it, that may be debateable at this stage. Some users are reporting difficulties with the initial indexing of resources. I'll let you know tomorrow morning if I was successful!

For insurance, if you can and don't mind running the Windows version under Fusion/Parallels, you would have viable option if the Mac Alpha version isn't useful. Another option might be to get a copy of Logos Mac version 1.2.2, which is in effect a souped up ebook reader. It works ok and I have used it for hours in my coursework.

Either way, the L4 Mac (Alpha) engine will require patience, but if you have it and want to participate in the development of it, jump in the deep end of the pool with us!

Posts 2778
J.R. Miller | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 10 2009 12:40 PM

I use 1.2.2 for my weekly sermon prep and reading.  I am testing L4mac Alpha.  It works for me.

My Books in Logos & FREE Training

Posts 102
shane blyth | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 10 2009 2:18 PM

It is an alpha so very bare bones and not very stable.

Not a patch on the Windows version yet but is suppose to progress pretty fast.