Sil Exegetical Summaries

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 99
jtondee | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Feb 13 2012 4:26 PM

Ive been eyeing the SIL exegetical summaries for awhile now, and i'm pretty close to pulling the trigger, everything I have seen of them looks to be pretty useful. I know there is a page for the series from the wiki, but I am looking for user input. 

I realize they are not commentaries, they are exactly what they say exegetical summaries, but do you find them to be helpful and useful, especially with the amount of links contained within them.

I currently have platinum package, and have added, TNTC/TOTC,  and the BST series and quite a few monographs that have fit a particular need at particular times within my ministry. I am a pastor of small church and trying to build a well rounded library of books, Are there any suggestions, concerning books or commentary series or anything else for that matter around $400-500 that would be useful. (I don't have WBC, or the NINTC/NIOTC and some of the more expensive series, I would love to have them but they are out of my meager budget for now)

Thanks for the help

PS I know we get one of questions these about every week on the forums, but i certainly lve seeing different perspectives on Library building.

Posts 9051
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 13 2012 4:43 PM

If it were me I would be shopping around and asking around about buying WBC for under $500. It is available.

The exegetical summaries are useful, but mostly as a supplement to exegetical work in Greek. So if you are doing that, they can be helpful. As I said I'd spend the $500 on the WBC. Some have mentioned in the Forum that it available somewhere besides Logos though it is against forum rules to say where. That rule has been broken.