Downloading Question

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 4
Matthew Yoder | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Jun 21 2012 6:00 AM

This is my first time downloading everything on my Mac from the website (I had previously had everything pre-loaded on my computer). I am using Logos 4 and it is downloading all of the updates and, conceivably, indexing them as well.

So, I go to the Logos icon and it says, "Downloading Updates (4133% of 5.83 GB)"

What is the 4133% all about? Is this an error or does it mean that its simply indexing everything (it's been going for going on 22 hours of this - running through the night). 

Posts 22860
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jun 21 2012 6:10 AM

Hi Matthew - and welcome to the forums

Matthew Yoder:
What is the 4133% all about?

This is a problem which occurs now and again and is often associated with something going wrong with the download.

There was a recent discussion of this at http://community.logos.com/forums/t/50595.aspx

You will see in that thread a post from Bradley (Logos employee) with an explanation of why this happens - http://community.logos.com/forums/p/50595/372950.aspx#372950

In that post he requests that logs are posted and provides a link to an article explaining how to do this (http://wiki.logos.com/Diagnostic_Logging#How_do_I_get_a_diagnostic_Log.3f)

If you could do that and post the logs, someone should be able to have a look at them.

Graham

Posts 10971
Denise | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Jun 21 2012 6:11 AM

Welcome to the forums Matthew (though not under these circumstances).

Yes ... as you have suspected, it is downloading 20,000 gigabytes of data. I don't want to even think about your ISP's reaction.

Actually your 2 issues are not uncommon. The readout has been a problem for several years now. And the time to download (22 hours) is likely well beyond that needed for 6g on your ISP.

The normal recommendation is to kill it and restart.