*IMPORTANT* Beta Testing Information/Warnings

Page 1 of 1 (1 items)
This post has 0 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 150
LogosEmployee
Todd White (Faithlife) | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Aug 7 2012 12:42 PM | Locked

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Logos Beta releases are beta software. They may corrupt your computer or delete your data. The Passage Guide, searching, or viewing books may stop working. We recommend installing Logos betas  only on a dedicated testing machine.

A Logos beta release cannot be installed side-by-side with another version of Logos; it will replace your existing installation.

Logos Betas cannot be downgraded to a stable release. You will need to uninstall, delete all Logos folders, then reinstall the stable release if you no longer wish to run a Logos Beta.

Do not share resources or Data folders between the stable Logos and the Logos Beta release; the format of data files and (some) resources in Logos Beta may have changed, making them unreadable by Logos.

The program itself and the resources it uses may be updated frequently during the beta. If you have an Internet data cap, we recommend that you do not join the beta.

Some documents in Logos Beta have changed their internal formats since the release of Logos; these documents will not be synced to your Logos installation. The new types of documents that will be added to Logos Beta will also not be synced. However, existing document types that haven’t changed their internal formats will continue to sync between Logos and Logos Beta.

Tips

If you don’t have a separate computer for testing, consider creating a new user account for beta testing. Install the beta under that account, keeping the stable version on your regular account. You can still log in with the same logos.com email and password to share your licenses and settings between the two accounts. You should not share Resources folders, as Logos Beta may download resources that can only be read by the beta, which would corrupt your Logos installation.

How to Join the Beta

The easiest way to join (and stay in) the beta program is to enter "set update channel to beta" in the command box. 

 

How to Leave the Beta

As stated above, the beta cannot be downgraded to a stable version (without completely uninstalling it), but you can leave the beta after the next stable version is released.

To leave the beta program, enter "set update channel to default" in the command box. If you're currently running a stable version, this will ensure no future betas are installed. If you're currently running a beta version, you will automatically get all new beta versions until the current beta goes stable; your computer will then automatically switch to only installing stable versions.

Page 1 of 1 (1 items) | RSS