Uninstall observations for L4

Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
This post has 2 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 8601
TCBlack | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Nov 23 2009 4:53 AM | Locked

Since this was a beta and we were encouraged not to overwrite our good install, I endeavored to comply.  I created a new account.

My main account is administrator level, my next account (beta) was user level on Win 7.

Installing the beta as a user caused complaints in the logs that it could not write into a given directory (The logs are in my other thread "Crash immediatly after install 4ab1"). 

I eventually had to install and uninstall several times. 

Uninstalling does not remove everything.  This is a flaw in windows software in general.  When I click uninstall I want everything removed.  I don't want any data - any registry keys - anything at all to be left behind.  I've had to go repeated to appdata and remove the remnants of one version or another in order to make sure that the following install would go smoothly.

Truth Is Still Truth Even if You Don't Believe It

Check the Wiki

Warning: Sarcasm is my love language. I may inadvertently express my love to you.

Posts 8601
TCBlack | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 23 2009 6:04 AM | Locked

FWIW after removing L4 and L4 prerequisites, the following directories remain and should not:

  • %appdata%/local/logos4/Documents
  • %appdata%/local/logos4/Install
  • %appdata%/local/logos4/Users

IMHO the %appdata%/local/logos4 directory should be gone after an uninstall.  What remains is only about 56 MB on my machine, after the multiple GB downloads involved in a regular installation I can't help but believe that this isn't about saving bandwidth, so let's just get rid of it.

Registry:

Without L3 ever being installed on this machine and after removing L3 "completely" the following keys unnecessarily remain - harmless though they may be, I believe and uninstall should leave no trace.

  • HKCR\libronixdls with two subkeys. "DefaultIcon" and "shell"

Of course there are still a few keys in the MUI cache but that doesn't bother me at all.

 

Truth Is Still Truth Even if You Don't Believe It

Check the Wiki

Warning: Sarcasm is my love language. I may inadvertently express my love to you.

Posts 7943
LogosEmployee
Bradley Grainger (Faithlife) | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Dec 7 2009 7:14 PM | Locked

Thomas Black:

FWIW after removing L4 and L4 prerequisites, the following directories remain and should not:

  • %appdata%/local/logos4/Documents
  • %appdata%/local/logos4/Install
  • %appdata%/local/logos4/Users

IMHO the %appdata%/local/logos4 directory should be gone after an uninstall.  What remains is only about 56 MB on my machine, after the multiple GB downloads involved in a regular installation I can't help but believe that this isn't about saving bandwidth, so let's just get rid of it.

We leave the "Documents" and "Users" folders, because they contain your user-created documents. If you were offline, or had not synced your most recent changes, we don't want un/reinstall to permanently delete your data. The "Install" folder probably shouldn't remain; I'll check if that's by design.

Thomas Black:

Registry:

Without L3 ever being installed on this machine and after removing L3 "completely" the following keys unnecessarily remain - harmless though they may be, I believe and uninstall should leave no trace.

  • HKCR\libronixdls with two subkeys. "DefaultIcon" and "shell"

Of course there are still a few keys in the MUI cache but that doesn't bother me at all.

This seems like a bug; I'll report it.

Page 1 of 1 (3 items) | RSS