Upgrading

Page 9 of 16 (313 items) « First ... < Previous 7 8 9 10 11 Next > ... Last »
This post has 312 Replies | 13 Followers

Posts 7
David Beth-El | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Nov 2 2012 3:54 AM

Hi Mark Smith,

You've mentioned that we can run L5 without adding the new databases for free. Others have been saying that getting L5 will cost (as I understand them). Is a free L5 something we have to wait for? Also, for how long can we run L4 before we can't buy books for it anymore? I'm a student (therefore with money for text books only) and I have another 6 years to go.

Posts 26
ClaytonH | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Nov 2 2012 4:05 AM

There must be some miscommunication going on here, because when I spoke to Logos they informed that my upgrade from Languages L4 to Languages L5 would cost $637 (about $200 more than what I paid for L4) and I would only get a couple of extra resources plus the L5 features - and I'm not even sure if it was all of them.  

Therefore, I would be paying even MORE for the same resources I purchased 12 months ago, albeit with the new L5 features.  

Posts 4689
Forum MVP
Mike Binks | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Nov 2 2012 4:16 AM

David Beth-El:
You've mentioned that we can run L5 without adding the new databases for free.

Yes but not yet. There will be a delay before the free engine is released.

David Beth-El:
Others have been saying that getting L5 will cost (as I understand them.

To make L5 really worth the money you need to get in at about the Gold Level. That unlocks a lot of the power of L5 for serious and detailed study. For that there will be some charge.

David Beth-El:
Also, for how long can we run L4 before we can't buy books for it anymore?

At the moment that is indefinitely (which I guess and this is only a guess actually means when the proportion of L4 users drops to less than 5% and it becomes financially viable for Logos to make them an offer they can't refuse.) Look to a decade of so.

Posts 25114