Greedy customers

Page 1 of 2 (38 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 37 Replies | 9 Followers

Posts 3733
Francis | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Nov 8 2012 9:44 AM

So, first of all, I want to say from the get-go that I am writing this of my own initiative. I say this for the conspiracy-theorists out there who might think we get bonus points if we say anything in support of Logos. 

Over the years, there have been times when I have been frustrated with Logos or disagreed with this or that. That's life though. It's normal to disagree especially when we see things from our own vantage point. But there is freedom to see things differently and not project our discontent unto others.

Quite frequently, I encounter reproaches in threads to the effect that Logos is greedy. Now, I am a poor student. I have written in the past about the materialism of endless purchases of collections and books. I also think it important to keep in mind believers and servants of the Lord who can benefit from the software but do not have the buying power there often is in richer countries.

This being said, there is the opposite danger. I have grabbed a lot of freebies over time: on vyrso, free book of the month, etc. There is a point when perhaps the freebies tend to be taken for granted, as if they were to be expected and owed to us, so that there is no longer much of gratitude involved in the "grabbing". This goes also with generous policies such as constant free program updates. I  would be the first to groan if I learned that -- as in the case of the release of Logos 5 -- I have to dish out more money to upgrade.