Ancient Near Eastern History

Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
This post has 6 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 3
William Brown | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Dec 31 2012 11:27 AM

Shalom!

recently I started reading Hebrew And Babylonian Traditions by Jastrow. Unfortunately, the book, according to my professors, is too old to be used a resource for future papers. They say the same about Alfred Eidershems "The Life and Times of Jesus". 

Does anybody have suggestions for books written after 2000 that would be similar in writing style and density as the previous two books stated? A Book available on Logos, of course.

I am a Sophomore at Northwest University in Kirkland, Washington and am in search of some good reads about ancient history.

thanks!

God bless and Shalom!

Posts 1880
Philana Crouch | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Dec 31 2012 11:34 AM

I make use of The Context of Scripture (its translations of ancient texts related to the Bible) its available in Logos. 

Posts 584
Pam Larson | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Dec 31 2012 12:01 PM

Here are a few I found in my library that have been published since 2000:

Wright, N. T. The Resurrection of the Son of God. Christian Origins and the Question of God. London: Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge, 2003. (This is the third volume in a trilogy. The first two are excellent in background material as well, but were published in the 1990s).

The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism. Edited by John J. Collins and Daniel C. Harlow. Grand Rapids, MI; Cambridge, U.K.: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company, 2010.

Flusser, David, and Azzan Yadin. Judaism of the Second Temple Period. Grand Rapids, MI; Jerusalem: William B. Eerdmans Pub. Co.; The Hebrew University Magnes Press, 2007-.

Thiede, Carsten Peter. The Cosmopolitan World of Jesus: New Findings from Archaeology. London: SPCK, 2004.