Delete Logos 4 after installing Logos 5?

Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 3
Frederick Blesse | Forum Activity | Posted: Sun, Feb 3 2013 9:33 PM

I have just upgraded from Logos 4 to Logos 5. Can I safely delete version 4?

 

Posts 8893
fgh | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 4 2013 1:09 AM

Welcome to the forums.

L5 normally installs on top of L4 so I wouldn't expect there to be any L4 to delete (except in Trash, of course). Do you see both apps in your Programs folder?

Do not delete the L4 folder in Library/Application Support. That is now used by L5. (Something in the Mac OS makes it impossible for them to change the name.)

"The Christian way of life isn't so much an assignment to be performed, as a gift to be received."  Wilfrid Stinissen

Mac Pro OS 10.9.

Posts 21919
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 4 2013 1:18 AM

Hi Frederick

There is a discussion at http://community.logos.com/forums/p/61227/434265.aspx which suggests that after the upgrade to L5, the L4 application icon is still present and can safely be dragged to trash.

Hope this is helpful.

Graham 

Posts 8893
fgh | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 4 2013 2:59 AM

You're right, Graham. In the early days of L5 there was an issue on Mac where L5 installed beside, instead of on top of, L4, leaving the latter disabled but still there. I can't remember seeing any threads about it for many many weeks now, however, so I thought the issue was long gone. I know I didn't see it when I upgraded in early December.

But by all means, yes, if L5 works, a remaining L4 icon can safely be trashed -- as long as it's the app (or dock) icon, and not the L4 folder in Application Support.

 

"The Christian way of life isn't so much an assignment to be performed, as a gift to be received."  Wilfrid Stinissen

Mac Pro OS 10.9.

Posts 3
Frederick Blesse | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 4 2013 8:21 AM

Thank you, gentlemen. That is a kind of messy install.

 

Posts 3
Frederick Blesse | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 4 2013 8:26 AM

What I meant to add was that, normally, when I delete programs, I have a helper app that opens and offers to remove all associated files, which I ignored this time. I was tempted to use it and just start over with Logos 5, but did not.

Posts 27681
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 4 2013 9:00 AM

Frederick Blesse:
What I meant to add was that, normally, when I delete programs, I have a helper app that opens and offers to remove all associated files, which I ignored this time. I was tempted to use it and just start over with Logos 5, but did not.

Except for the app in the "Applications" folder, Logos reuses everything else… just like they would do during a normal update. Using that helper app may have caused more problems that you would want.

FYI - For some long and boring reason that I don't really understand, the Mac version will continue to have "Logos4" folders even with a clean install. Tongue Tied

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Page 1 of 1 (7 items) | RSS