Page 1 of 1 (16 items)
This post has 15 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Dec 15 2009 2:44 AM | Locked

I have noticed since I dwnlld 4.0a 4 that my 'chosen bible' keeps changing from NASB to NIV on initial start everyday- anyone know why, anyone else having this?

Posts 4508
Robert Pavich | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 2:46 AM | Locked

Whydell,

it's the new; "why stick to one translation?" feature....

Just kidding..

Q: Is there another machine of yours that is getting the preferred bible synced?

Robert Pavich

For help go to the Wiki: http://wiki.logos.com/Table_of_Contents__

Posts 18704
Rosie Perera | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 2:57 AM | Locked

Whyndell Grizzard:

I have noticed since I dwnlld 4.0a 4 that my 'chosen bible' keeps changing from NASB to NIV on initial start everyday- anyone know why, anyone else having this?

Have you by any chance had to reboot your machine every day (e.g., new Windows updates downloading forcing an automatic reboot) which would cause Logos not to get a chance to close normally? I'm not sure how/when they record the preferred Bible to wherever they keep that info (the registry?) but it might be at program exit time. Try changing your preferred Bible, then closing Logos and opening it back up again, and see if it stays put through your initial start the next day.

The other option is to just leave Logos running all the time and never shut down your machine. I mean who wants to ever not have Logos running. :-)

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 3:35 AM | Locked

I do have to laptops running but not at sametime and they both have the NASB as the perferred bible.

No the only restarts are when I choose to or if necessary by update- but it never happened on previous restarts.

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 3:39 AM | Locked

Ok it just happened again- I purchased a book- started L4 and it ran the update and an index 15.4mb- it finished, I restarted machie #1 everything fine, closed.

Started machine #2 to download the purchase and update, when it opened it showed my perferred bible as the ESV, not a bad translation, but I had the NASB as the chosen text.

This does happen everyday now and is happening randomly thru outh the day when I switch from machine to machine.

I have chosen NASB on #2 and sync'd I'll see if it happens again.

Posts 347
Mitch Davis | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 4:53 AM | Locked

Whyndell Grizzard:
...anyone else having this?

Whyndell,

I have mine set to NASB and it has never changed (on its own) to any other "Preferred Bible" translation.

I hope your problem resolves by the next drop.

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 5:18 AM | Locked

Ok - downlld'd resources on #2- then indexed for 40 minutes closed out and reopened- everytning ok here NASB still perferred bible, closed #2.

Opned #1 and NIV is now the choen bible there instead of NASB- strange behaviour.

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 5:56 AM | Locked

Ok - spoke to soon chose NASB to be perferred bible again on #1- sync'd (twice) closed and re-opened ok on #1.

Closed #1 - then opened #2- well the ESV has appeared again as perferred bible- still strange behaviour.

Any suggestions?

Posts 8601
TCBlack | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 6:15 AM | Locked

Whyndell,

This sounds like one for the techs at Logos. I have no idea where the mechanism is for storing your bible preference.  If it's an XML file on your HD than there may be a write permissions issue.  Else if it's a registry key, it could be a permissions issue there. 

I think you've discovered a bug, I suspect brought on by user account status.

What "type" of user are you logged in as?  Admin, regular user, etc...?

Truth Is Still Truth Even if You Don't Believe It

Check the Wiki

Warning: Sarcasm is my love language. I may inadvertently express my love to you.

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 6:24 AM | Locked

Admin- on both machines.

Posts 3192
Whyndell Grizzard | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Dec 15 2009 6:29 AM | Locked

I noticed the "choose perferred bible" pane- gray out a couple times before it brings up the NASB, this behaviour happens on both laptops.

Running Vista home Premium on #1, Vista Home Basic on #2- both have in access of 250 Gb of hd, and both have 4gb of mem- hd are running 7200 rpm.

 

Posts 168
Bill Gordon | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Mar 8 2010 5:21 PM | Locked

I'm having the same problem with the preferred Bible changing at random. I hope the techs at Logos can figure out what is going wrong.

Posts 3665
Floyd Johnson | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Mar 8 2010 5:27 PM | Locked

I am not a Beta user, but have seen similar behavior in my installation - My preferred Bible is ESV, but it seems to switch randomly back to HCSB.  This was my previous choice, but has been changed for a month or so at this point.  This past week it has switched three or four times.  Not sure this helps - hinders, since I am not beta tester.  Ignore my comment if it does not help.

Floyd

Blessings,
Floyd

Pastor-Patrick.blogspot.com

Posts 25032
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 9 2010 2:04 AM | Locked

WilliamEGordonJr:

I'm having the same problem with the preferred Bible changing at random. I hope the techs at Logos can figure out what is going wrong.

This is a known bug - see http://wiki.logos.com/Bug$3a_AMP_bible_overriding_Preferred_Bible_in_Prioritize_List

It does not appear it will be fixed in 4.0b

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 3501
LogosEmployee
Scott Alexander | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Mar 11 2010 1:47 PM | Locked

After some further investigation I believe this issue was resolved in an early 4.0b beta.

A bug in the shipping 4.0a home page preferred bible tool causes all resource priorities to sync every time the app starts. This is obviously undesirable but also creates the following race condition - if the background sync process hasn't downloaded all available resource priority updates before the homepage is initialized (e.g. slow network connection, sync server temporarily offline for maintenance, use internet set to no) the changes will be overwritten by the most recent resource priorities on the current running instance.

If you're running 4.0b and only 4.0b on all machines you should not encounter this bug. If you ever use 4.0a you may see it.

Scott

Posts 1178
David Wilson | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Mar 11 2010 2:30 PM | Locked

Thanks for the update on this one Scott.  Glad to hear it is resolved in 4.0b

 

Page 1 of 1 (16 items) | RSS