Seeking suggestions for new computer

Page 1 of 1 (18 items)
This post has 17 Replies | 4 Followers

Posts 928
Bill Moore | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Sep 20 2013 11:28 AM

About every four years I seem to go through this--trying to determine the best computer to buy with a particular concern for running Logos. I don't have to buy today but need to start getting my ducks in a row.

My present computer is a Lenovo ThinkPad T500, complete with hairline cracks in each palmrest. I've been using notebook computers since 1997 but have never had this occur. Regardless, it's not a big deal and wouldn't prevent my buying another Lenovo because I like the keyboard so much.

This is a good time to reassess the playing field as well as give Apple another look (I have an iPhone 4s and an iPad 3). I could get used to Retina display on a computer. Admittedly, the price of Macs has usually kept me away. Do any Windows notebooks have a Retina-like display?

Hybrid Windows computers (notebook/tablet) are intriguing, though I would be concerned about speed and storage capacity. It seems that a good notebook is the thing to go with, but I'm open to any and all suggestions.

So, if you had a budget of $1500 but would gladly spend less, what would you go with? I'm open to Windows and Macs. I guess the three criteria for me are speed, hard drive capacity, and display resolution (with a concern about glare).

Thanks for your input.

Pastor, Cornerstone Baptist Church, Clinton, SC

Posts 5250
Dan Francis | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Sep 20 2013 11:57 AM

With that budget i would say MacBook pro 13" is your best bet…. but to get the hard drive space to the level you want it may bump you over the 1500 mark. Make sure no matter which laptop you buy you get a solid state drive it will make all the difference with Logos for speed.

-Dan

Posts 13360
Forum MVP
Mark Barnes | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Sep 20 2013 12:13 PM

Bill Moore: