Bible commentaries

Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
This post has 7 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 1
Tim | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Apr 14 2014 2:17 AM

Hello everyone,

I want to buy a full Bible commentary and I'd appreciate to have help from you all. I checked a site called "bestcommentaries" and that showed me a look around.

In fact, I'm a student of theology and I'm interested in languages, exegetic, good establishment of the text,... For example, I don't like NICOT because it doesn't have any establishment of the text... And I like to compare the versions LXX-Vulgate-MassoreticText for the OT and the manuscripts for the NT.

I know WBC and found that they are good and technical but the textual notes are really short. Then, I know also AB and there, I've found great textual notes but the commentaries on the text are not so good (and the site "bestcommentaries" doesn't seem to like them !). What would be the best combination according to you ?

Thanks,

Tim.

Posts 1792
Ken McGuire | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Apr 14 2014 3:50 AM

Since you are a student, I strongly recommend that you ask your professors what commentaries would be helpful in your studies and also walk to the reference library and compare them on specific texts.

The Bestcommentaries site shows how much generally evangelical pastors like certain commentaries - useful info, but there are other communities of users out there too.  Unfortunately, with some exceptions, most commentaries are weak/pedestrian in text criticism....