Number of Snapshots and Speed

Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
This post has 6 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 1339
PL | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Jan 18 2010 10:00 PM | Locked

In the Layout window, I counted 33 snapshots saved, the oldest one dating back to Dec 14, more than a month ago.  

Is it really necessary to keep around so many of these snapshots, some of which being from so long ago?  Could that be why the Layout window usually takes several seconds before it opens?

Can we limit it to only save, say, the last 15 snapshots?

Peter

P.S. I manually deleted all the snapshots except for the last few, and the Layout window opens a lot faster now.

Posts 2193
Forum MVP
John Fidel | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2010 4:18 AM | Locked

I think this is another area that speed is impacted negatively. How about saving the same number of layouts, only displaying 3 or 5 of the last ones with a more link at the bottom to open up the rest.

Posts 5337
Kevin Becker | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2010 4:54 AM | Locked

I think this should be a setting, like in a browser where I can tell it how long to keep my history.

Posts 261
Ralph A. Abernethy III | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2010 4:57 AM | Locked

When my internet browser's running slow on my computer, deleting the browsing history helps.  Looks like it would be the same principle here too.

Posts 2193
Forum MVP
John Fidel | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2010 5:32 AM | Locked

Mine go back to November 4th.... no wonder it takes 5 seconds for me to open the layouts just to update the current layout. There is some efficiency to be gained here for sure.

Posts 3658
BillS | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2010 8:47 AM | Locked

PeterLi:
In the Layout window, I counted 33 snapshots saved, the oldest one dating back to Dec 14, more than a month ago.  

The last time I deleted snapshots, I wasn't watching carefully & missed that SOME of them were named--corresponding to the named layouts on my toolbar. The result? Named layouts that I'd carefully built were lost.

I agree with your suggestion, but named layouts still appear in this list. (I just checked 4.0b beta4. All of mine are there.) I never want my named layouts to be auto-deleted. I'm still of the opinion if a layout is named, it no longer belongs in the list of "snapshots"...

Blessings!

 

Grace & Peace,
Bill


Asus GF63 8RD, I-7 8850H, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, NVIDIA GTX 1050Max
Samsung S9+, 64GB
Fire 10HD 64GB 7th Gen

Posts 147
Scott H. Clark | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jan 19 2010 8:50 AM | Locked

BillS  +1

Page 1 of 1 (7 items) | RSS