Previous update layouts

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
This post has 4 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 3617
Milkman | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Mar 4 2016 2:47 PM

Is there any way to have previous updated layouts automatically delete themselves? Every time a layout is "updated" the older layout is still visible in the layouts pull down.

So in reality, you could have numerous (older) layouts of the most recently updated layout in the pull down.

Is there a reason for having the older layouts? One reason I could see is that if you wanted to refer to an older layout for some reason, but I'm not sold that many are using it in that way.

mm.

mm.

Posts 31305
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 4 2016 3:05 PM

You mean on the history side (right side)? My layouts menus (left side) seem to work correctly with updates overlaying the previous version.

It would make sense to be able to establish a rule for deleting the history side maintaining no more than n number of a particular layout or only retaining for n years (months). But mine aren't particularly cluttered as the autosaves on closure seem to have some sort of a cleanup process.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 3617
Milkman | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 4 2016 4:01 PM

If I scroll down even further I can see more Misc. Readings and Galatians layouts. So is there a way to have these previous layouts automatically deleted once I update a current layout?

MJ. Smith:

You mean on the history side (right side)? My layouts menus (left side) seem to work correctly with updates overlaying the previous version.

It would make sense to be able to establish a rule for deleting the history side maintaining no more than n number of a particular layout or only retaining for n years (months). But mine aren't particularly cluttered as the autosaves on closure seem to have some sort of a cleanup process.

mm.

Posts 31305
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 4 2016 4:37 PM

On the history side wouldn't that defeat the purpose of history? From the Help file:

verbum help:


Layouts
Permanently save a current or previous snapshot of the Verbum workspace to access at a later time:
 1.      Click on Layouts on the right side of the Toolbar.
 2.      Locate the snapshot thumbnail you want to save on the right side of the drop-down window. The most recent ones will be listed at the top by day and time. (Older snapshots will eventually drop off the list.)
 3.      Click on Save as named layout and type a name for the layout. Duplicate names are fine; the list on the left will take you to the last-saved version of that name, or you can use the Find box next to Recent at the top right to find all the earlier versions of that name in your history.
 4.      Named layouts are added to the left side of the drop-down window.
   •      After opening a named layout and making changes, click ‘Update Active’ to save the changes to your named layout.
   •      The layout open upon closing the application will automatically be named ‘Application Closed’ and synced to the server for access at a later time or on another machine.  Only ten items will be saved at once.  ‘Application Closed’ layouts, like other snapshots, must be renamed to be saved in the left column.
 5.      Right click on a named layout to Load, Rename, Update to current snapshot, or Delete the layout.


n.d.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 3617
Milkman | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Mar 4 2016 5:29 PM

I guess number 2 in the list refers to a "dropping off" from the list. Just wondering how long the list is.

Thanks for your help.

mm.

mm.

Page 1 of 1 (5 items) | RSS