Should I edit the Wiki for my library meta-data concerns?

Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
This post has 6 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 515
David P. Moore | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Apr 3 2010 2:36 PM

Hi all, a request for some advice:

I have noticed many inconsistencies/missing data in my small library. For example, I currently have 50 books with no subject. Many others have a Dewey call number instead of a subject. Still others have minor inconsistencies in the subject field for the same book series (such as an added period), causing Logos to interpret them as different subjects.

As a librarian by trade, I feel compelled to contribute to the appropriate wiki page (http://wiki.logos.com/Metadata_correction_proposals) to highlight these minor issues. So I was thinking, for example, along the terms of creating a new heading for missing subject tags and adding the books I am aware of, as I don't see several of them there now.  My question is, would this be a good thing to do--or does Logos already know about this--or is it necessary? Maybe there's a reason they haven't been added already. For example, I noticed on the wiki page that the "Bible and Its Story" is mentioned as not having a series tag, but no mention of its missing subject field data. And this title came with my base package, so I know a lot of users have it and have probably noticed the missing subject data.

I'm still relatively a new Logos user and have not contributed to the Wiki yet, so I'm just curious about  what to do. I'm real excited to be a user of L4, and just want to do what little I can to make it even better.

Posts 26979
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Apr 3 2010 4:03 PM

David P. Moore: