A Couple of Searching Questions

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 652
Jeremy | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Apr 6 2010 5:32 PM

When a passage guide search is performed and I incorporate a Dictionary collection and a Theological Journal Collection to it, how does L4 determine what comes up? It would be nice if Logos could design a collection search that follows the parameters we set up. For instance, too many titles are coming up when I utilize My Passage Guide in my Theological Journals. I would like it if only the passage I am studying is in the title or the main points of the journal.

Second, isn't there a way to do a Basic search in my Theological Journals and just search the titles of journals or main points of the journal in order to look for a particular word or phrase or does the Cited By tool do this?

Posts 26012
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Apr 6 2010 8:28 PM

Jeremy:
When a passage guide search is performed and I incorporate a Dictionary collection and a Theological Journal Collection to it, how does L4 determine what comes up? It would be nice if Logos could design a collection search that follows the parameters we set up. For instance, too many titles are coming up when I utilize My Passage Guide in my Theological Journals. I would like it if only the passage I am studying is in the title or the main points of the journal.

If you add a Collections section(s) to PG then your chosen resource set (collection) is searched for all references that encompass your PG passage.

If you add a Commentaries section(s) to PG then your chosen resource set (collection) is searched for indexed references that discuss your PG passage.

To clarify, an indexed reference/passage is in the header of a section that discusses the passage whilst the Collections section gathers references/passages from anywhere in the text eg. a list of references.