How to disable Layouts from saving each time I close Logos

Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
This post has 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 18
Karl Shifflett | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Oct 20 2017 1:38 PM

How to disable Layouts from saving each time I close Logos?

I only want Logos to save a layout when I save it.

Thank you,

Karl

Posts 8979
Forum MVP
Bruce Dunning | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 5:33 AM

Kari, I believe that this feature is built into the software and it cannot be disabled. I actually prefer it this way as it automatically keeps my latest work. If you wish to keep the other layout I would suggest that you save it as a named layout.

Using adventure and community to challenge young people to continually say "yes" to God

Posts 356
Mathew Haferkamp | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 10:05 AM

Hey Karl, you can do this pretty easy.    

1.  Go to tools

2. Click on program settings

3. Should be the top option, click on the arrow and select start with blank lay out

                    This should work if you have any more questions just ask.  Have fun!!

Posts 18
Karl Shifflett | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 1:15 PM

Mathew,

Sorry, it does not work.  It keeps adding entries to the Layouts List. 

What makes this so annoying is that my Save Layouts are at the bottom of the list and I have to keep deleting the "Application Closed" entries it keeps inserting into the top of the list.

Please fix this and thank you!

Karl

Posts 18
Karl Shifflett | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 1:16 PM

Bruce,

It's NUTS that there is not an option to disable this,

Karl

Posts 1864
David Thomas | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 1:30 PM

Karl Shifflett:
What makes this so annoying is that my Save Layouts are at the bottom of the list and I have to keep deleting the "Application Closed" entries it keeps inserting into the top of the list.

I also choose to delete "application closed" and "snapshot" shortcuts on the right side panel, but the "now" is always at the top and the last time I updated a layout is always available on the left side.  The other shortcuts on the right are mere conveniences in case a power outage or some other unexpected occurrence.

Making Disciples!  Logos Ecosystem = Logos8 on Microsoft Surface Pro 4 (Win10), Android app on tablet, FSB on iPhone, [deprecated] Windows App, Proclaim, Faithlife.com, FaithlifeTV via Connect subscription.

Posts 17990
Forum MVP
Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :) | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 1:37 PM

Karl Shifflett:
What makes this so annoying is that my Save Layouts are at the bottom of the list ...

Left side of Layouts pop-up has "Saved Layouts" section:

Also Thankful can start with a QuickStart Layout, which can be customized followed by saving for future QuickStart use.

Keep Smiling Smile

Posts 25053
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 21 2017 3:21 PM

Karl Shifflett:
What makes this so annoying is that my Save Layouts are at the bottom of the list and I have to keep deleting the "Application Closed" entries it keeps inserting into the top of the list.

Yes, Logos is pedantically saving blank layouts as well as normal layouts to reflect the state when you exit Logos. But it begins to delete Application Closed layouts when their number exceeds 10. As KS4J states, you can see your Saved layouts on the left side of the Layouts menu, and it will load the latest version of each named layout. You can also elect to load a named layout when Logos starts, so it will only load what you have saved.

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 1077
Lee | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Oct 23 2017 9:15 PM

Hi Karl 

Another way to get started faster is save the layout that you access to on the bar at the top. Then you can change the layout quickly without searching.

L4 Bible Study, L5 Reformed Bronze, & L5 Gold, L6 Platinum & Reformed Platinum, L7 Platinum, L8 Baptist Platinum.
2015 rMBP 15" 2.2GHz 16GB 256GB SSD, running macOS Mojave   iPad Mini 4,   iPhone 6.

Posts 27781
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Oct 24 2017 4:18 AM

Karl Shifflett:
It's NUTS that there is not an option to disable this

What is your concern over the saved layouts?

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 3667
BillS | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Oct 24 2017 9:47 AM

Karl Shifflett:

How to disable Layouts from saving each time I close Logos? I only want Logos to save a layout when I save it.

Thank you, Karl

Karl,

Try Naming your layout. Logos doesn't save named layouts unless you save it manually. From then on, you can appreciate the auto-backup at close that makes available the last layout you WANTED but forgot to save. 

Smile

Grace & Peace,
Bill


Asus GF63 8RD, I-7 8850H, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, NVIDIA GTX 1050Max
Samsung S9+, 64GB
Fire 10HD 64GB 7th Gen

Posts 18
Karl Shifflett | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Oct 24 2017 12:29 PM

Great advice, thank you.

Posts 18
Karl Shifflett | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Oct 24 2017 12:30 PM

Yes, have a saved layout.  Thank you.

Page 1 of 1 (13 items) | RSS