Determine Scholarly Source

Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1
John W. McGuire, II | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Sep 4 2018 12:53 PM

Is there a way to determine Scholarly Source when searching in Logos?  

I am currently pursuing an MDiv.   In one of my classes, the professor told me that one of my sources was not Scholarly (A.W. Pink).   I have used this author in other classes as a resource for research papers.   

Is there a definitive list of authors who are considered Scholarly?  If so, is there a way to filter a search?

Thanks!

Posts 26118
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Sep 4 2018 1:27 PM

Welcome to the forums. No, there is no definitive list. However, there are some clues - footnotes, bibliography, author's academic credentials. But even academics can write popular books and there are self-taught scholars who lack credentials.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 1808
David Thomas | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Sep 4 2018 5:00 PM

John W. McGuire, II:
Is there a way to determine Scholarly Source when searching in Logos?  

No definitive list exists, some Seminaries have compiled lists of best resources - https://library.tiu.edu/commentaries   is the list from Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. Check with your seminary library.

If you go to bestcommentaries.com and select a book of the bible, then you can search by "technical" commentaries to get the top "scholarly". I had a prof who said he wants to see the top 10 of best commentaries on a text and the top 5 "technical" commentaries for any paper he grades.

Making Disciples!  Logos Ecosystem = Logos8 on Microsoft Surface Pro 4 (Win10), Android app on tablet, FSB on iPhone, [deprecated] Windows App, Proclaim, Faithlife.com, FaithlifeTV via Connect subscription.

Posts 27442
Forum MVP