getting the most out of the monographs

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 600
Larry Craig | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Nov 19 2018 1:51 PM

I have been working through my monographs, editing their headings and trying to figure out ways to make using them easier and faster.

I figured out a way that I think is worth pursuing.

Now I use them so far almost entirely with a passage guide.  And monographs fall into one of two categories.  There are monographs that deal with the book of the Bible I am studying and those that don't.

For example, say I am doing a study on John's Gospel.  There are a lot of monographs on John, theologies, introductions, character studies, analyses, etc.  And then there are a lot of books that just might have a reference to John.  

A typical passage guide search including monographs will easily overwhelm you with results.  

I suggest that the library have another tagging criterion.  I would like to be able to tag a monograph with such labels as John, Romans NT, OT, etc. so that I don't get a list of 50 books that have a verse referred to in them but a separate list of monographs that specifically deal with that book of the Bible.  

Someone will say, just put them in a collection.  But what collection?  What collection will put all the monographs on, say, John's Gospel together in a search result without all the myriad of others?

Thank you

Posts 21998
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 19 2018 1:56 PM

Are you aware you can tag resources as per https://wiki.logos.com/Tagging?

You should be able to tag monographs as you wish and then use the tags to create collections which you can then use in your PG.

Does this give you what you want?

Posts 600
Larry Craig | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Nov 19 2018 2:01 PM