Logos 8.6 Beta 1 (8.6.0.0015)

Page 2 of 2 (28 items) < Previous 1 2
This post has 27 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 4
Nathan Cameron | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Jun 10 2019 2:28 PM

Thanks for the info Philana!

Please don't hear me wrong here. I often get in these kinds of discussions with companies (I'm a Bible Professor and I manage 200 iPads at a private school on the side lol). In my opinion it is a spectacular practice to ensure zero day compatibility with upcoming software releases. This is only accomplished by the company dedicating testing devices to the beta versions of that upcoming software. I'm assuming you do this of course and want to be clear that I'm not saying I consider lack of compatibility at this point to be a bug of any sort. I'm just hoping that, at some point, the necessary changes for Catalina make their way into the beta version of Logos so "in use" bugs can get squashed based on user feedback prior to public release.

I'm leaving to do some Logos training for some students in the Philippines in 8 days! I'm just going to stay away from Catalina so I can do it effectively.

Posts 24572
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Jun 10 2019 5:02 PM

Nathan Cameron:
I'm just hoping that, at some point, the necessary changes for Catalina make their way into the beta version of Logos so "in use" bugs can get squashed based on user feedback prior to public release.

User feedback from a beta is potentially useful, so it is not discouraged. Faithlife will make changes when the impact for Logos can be properly assessed, but the release version may also introduce something that affects Logos. So the only guarantee is that Logos 8 will support the new version (Logos 7 and earlier are not supported). Changes may be introduced via a Service Release, which can occur earlier than changes made in the beta cycle.

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 88
John Brumett | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jun 11 2019 6:20 PM