Editing a Bible Reading Plan and Clicking on "Done Editing"

Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
This post has 6 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 31
Greg | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Feb 13 2021 11:53 AM

Hi,

I tried to begin editing my Bible Reading Plan.

I experimented and explored options of changing from reading "every day", to reading "at your own pace".

I did NOT click on the "Done" icon, as in I was "done editing" and wanted to "commit to these changes."

But Logos committed to those changes anyways, and I couldn't cancel and go back to they way it was before.

Now I apparently have to re-build my Bible reading plan and "Catch Up" to my last Bible reading read, which can be done, but it is an unexpected behavior when there is a "Done Icon" available that should represent committing to changes explored.

What does the "Done" icon do?  It appears that certain changes are committed even when in exploration/ experimentation mode, before you click on the "Done" icon.

Posts 26516
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 14 2021 11:38 AM

Greg:
Now I apparently have to re-build my Bible reading plan and "Catch Up" to my last Bible reading read, which can be done, but it is an unexpected behavior

If you have commenced Reading there is a warning that editing the Plan will reset to the beginning (except Custom Reading Plans).

Greg:
But Logos committed to those changes anyways, and I couldn't cancel and go back to they way it was before.

I have a bible Reading Plan (by Chapter) that I could revert to "every day" after changing it to "at your own pace". But I directed it to read specific chapters instead of "All Passages".

I got another bible reading Plan to reflect your experience, which had the default option "All Passages". But it usually reverted to the original schedule when I went back to "every day". The duration and readings are changed when you go to "At your own pace", so this may impact the ability to revert to the original schedule.

Greg:
What does the "Done" icon do?  It appears that certain changes are committed even when in exploration/ experimentation mode, before you click on the "Done" icon.

In "Edit" mode, the reading schedule will re-generate to reflect your changes and clicking "Done" confirms that you are ready to start your readings. Otherwise, you would have to go back to "Edit" mode if you didn't like the new schedule.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 31
Greg | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 14 2021 4:08 PM

Dave Hooton:

If you have commenced Reading there is a warning that editing the Plan will reset to the beginning (except Custom Reading Plans).

Thanks, I'll look around for this warning.  I didn't see it.

Posts 31
Greg | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 14 2021 4:50 PM

I see the warning now (shown below). 

Didn't expect it would wipe out the current plan and start over from scratch. 

Good to know.

Thanks!

Posts 100
Anthony Grubb | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 21 2021 5:33 PM

Greg:
Didn't expect it would wipe out the current plan and start over from scratch. 


While it does do this, it is usually an easy matter (esp. if you are at the beginning of a reading) to go to the overview and check off the sections already read and thus use your revised edition without any real issue.

On a new sub-issue; while I haven't used Logos 9 yet, on previous versions it has seemed to me that the Logos in all its incarnations is designed to handle it better when you get behind than if you are on schedule (esp.if you want to work ahead).  Case in point, if you want to complete two readings a day, if you are behind this is no problem, as long as you can ignore the Red Banner and other announcements telling you what a slacker you are, lol.  However, if you are caught up and want to do an additional reading, it seems to pose much more of an issue (esp. with the Android app, perhaps).  Makes me want to run all the dates for years past when I build a plan so I can work at my own pace while still having a semblance of calendar dates for reference.  Anyone else have experience with this?  No intention to hijack the thread or anything.

Posts 100
Anthony Grubb | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 21 2021 5:34 PM

Greg:
Didn't expect it would wipe out the current plan and start over from scratch. 


While it does do this, it is usually an easy matter (esp. if you are at the beginning of a reading) to go to the overview and check off the sections already read and thus use your revised edition without any real issue.

On a new sub-issue; while I haven't used Logos 9 yet, on previous versions it has seemed to me that the Logos in all its incarnations is designed to handle it better when you get behind than if you are on schedule (esp.if you want to work ahead).  Case in point, if you want to complete two readings a day, if you are behind this is no problem, as long as you can ignore the Red Banner and other announcements telling you what a slacker you are, lol.  However, if you are caught up and want to do an additional reading, it seems to pose much more of an issue (esp. with the Android app, perhaps).  Makes me want to run all the dates for years past when I build a plan so I can work at my own pace while still having a semblance of calendar dates for reference.  Anyone else have experience with this?  No intention to hijack the thread or anything.

Posts 26516
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Feb 22 2021 6:38 AM

Anthony Grubb:
 However, if you are caught up and want to do an additional reading, it seems to pose much more of an issue (esp. with the Android app, perhaps).  Makes me want to run all the dates for years past when I build a plan so I can work at my own pace while still having a semblance of calendar dates for reference.

The Reading Plan card on the Home Page will encourage you to Read Ahead if you have completed the reading for "Today". I'm not concerned with reading on a mobile device, and actual dates are irrelevant unless I overlook the status on the card and get behind.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Page 1 of 1 (7 items) | RSS