Morphological searching

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 55
John Houseago | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Aug 12 2010 11:37 AM

I wonder if anyone can help.  I am not very good at Logos or Greek!

I am preparing a bible study on Paul's understanding of sin.

I set up a morphological search using NA27, and the range of the search to Paul's letters excluding the Pastoral Epistles.  I intended to check Paul's use of the singular and plural forms.

If I search on lemma:hamartia (using greek font) I get 61 hits in 50 verses.  If I add @N to the search I get 122 hits in 50 verses, i.e. twice as many hits.  I expected the lemma:hamartia result to be the total, with any qualifications after the @ to reduce the total.

I am missing something about the search?  Even more worrying, with a more complex search how will I know if I am getting true results?

Thank you.

Posts 5337
Kevin Becker | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Aug 12 2010 11:52 AM

The search engine counts the Lemma as a hit and the morph as a hit. You can divide the number by 2 to get the "true" number of hits. We've requested this changed before but I don't think Logos responded.

Posts 55
John Houseago | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Aug 12 2010 1:08 PM

Thank you, Kevin.   I appreciate the quick response. 

This is an odd way for Logos to count.  I am still not sure how I know the answers are correct

Posts 24298
Forum MVP
Graham Criddle | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Aug 12 2010 1:19 PM

Hi John

I have just tried doing the same search in the ESV - which uses the same morphology as NA27 - and it seems to work differently in that the number of hits obtained when using @N is the same as without.

Would this give you what you want or is it essential that you use NA27?

Graham

PS: Why these two resources give different results is something I don't understand!

Posts 26403
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Aug 12 2010 5:25 PM

Graham Criddle: