A plug for Ramsay (community pricing)

Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
This post has 14 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 1680
Allen Browne | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Dec 4 2010 5:32 PM

Check out William Mitchell Ramsay Collection (16 vols.) in community pricing. Looks like $30 might buy the 16 volumes.

Ramsay seems to come up everywhere I read at present (probably because I'm studying Acts/Galatians.)

Examples:

• "... this assumption about the locale of Paul’s Galatian converts began to be challenged by W. M. Ramsay and others..."
    Ben Witherington III, Grace in Galatia : A Commentary on St. Paul's Letter to the Galatians (Grand Rapids, MI: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co., 1998), 5.
  • "William Ramsay is stunned by the accuracy that characterizes Luke’s habit of mind"
    Moisés Silva, Interpreting Galatians: Explorations in Exegetical Method, 2nd ed. (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2001), 127.
  • "...few of these have dealt adequately with Ramsay’s positive arguments."
    F. F. Bruce, The Epistle to the Galatians : A Commentary on the Greek Text (Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co., 1982), 9.

Lots of other commentaries refer to him too, such as:

• WBC (Galatians, Tim, Rev),
  • Baker Exegetical CNT (1 Pt, Rev), 
  • NIGNT (Col, 1 Cor, Phil),
  • NAC (Acts, Timothy, Phil/Col),
  • Baker NTC (Rev), Metzger (Textual Commentary),
  • BBCC (Acts),
  • Holman NT (Acts),
  • BST (Acts),
  • Tyndale (Acts),
  • NIBC, HNTC, and others.

And Bible dictionaries:

• International Standard Bible Encyclopedia
  • New Bible Dictionary
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
  • Dictionary of NT Background
  • Eerdmans Bible Dictionary
  • Exegetical Dictionary of the NT
  • Vine's, Robertson's, and more (even BDAG.)

For background on Ramsay, click this to open your Who's Who in Church History.
Or, Robert J. Morgan, Evidence and Truth : Foundations for Christian Truth, Biblical essentials series (Wheaton, IL: Crossway Books, 2003), 10: