Non Upload of personal data option

Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
This post has 2 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 2644
David Ames | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Sep 26 2011 5:34 PM | Locked

From User Voice
Add an option that allows a user not to upload their personal data (notes, prayers) to Logos' servers

With 456 votes (number 7)

From Beta Forum
Important Change to Synchronization coming in next Beta for Notes, custom Highlighting styles, Favorites, and some Preferences

IF there are large updates being done to the Synchronization parts of the code [and they MUST be big as that last Beta was a long time ago] then MAYBE adding the option that allows users to not sync their personal data [prayer lists, notes, PB, etc] should be done NOW.

If it gets added latter you [Logos] WILL need to rewrite code – do it now - do it once [just imho]

Posts 15805
Forum MVP
Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :) | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Sep 26 2011 11:09 PM | Locked

Looking at User Voice suggestion => Add an option that allows a user not to upload their personal data (notes, prayers)to Logos' servers (currently ranked 8th with 456 votes), noticed Bob Pritchett's response:

You can turn off Internet Use in the program settings, and get updates by ordering DVD's on occasion. We'll continue to listen to feedback on this, though it's lower on our priority list than missing features.

 

Wondering about feedback that can provide practical reasons to not upload personal data to Logos servers since data is currently not available to other Logos users ?

Keep Smiling Smile

Posts 2644
David Ames | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Sep 27 2011 5:18 AM | Locked

Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :):

noticed Bob Pritchett's response: You can turn off Internet Use in the program settings, and get updates by ordering DVD's on occasion.

Wondering about feedback that can provide practical reasons to not upload personal data to Logos servers since data is currently not available to other Logos users ?

Keep Smiling Smile

Yes, data is not available to others - BUT what if it gets hacked?  [also see User Voice comments]

REASONS: one is Copyright - Have a PDF version that I have fair use of - But will Logos get into copyright problems if they GRAB a copy of my PB from that file? [I will not but will they?]

COMMENT on turn off Internet: No auto updates. Very long load time of new books.  Who pays shipping?  Are the DVDs free?  [How many updates have there been to 4.3?  How many were there to 4.2?  So one orders the 4.5 DVD on the day it is released - it gets shipped the next day - two days latter 4.5.1 comes out - will Logos ship a new DVD at no cost?]

MAYBE: the option to turn SYNC off [All off instead of by parts as requested and add a way for us to sync local [usb maybe]] then auto update and book could be on.

Page 1 of 1 (3 items) | RSS