Best Upgrade from or Christmas spending spree for Scholar's Silver

Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 48
Chris Rees | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Dec 22 2011 7:11 AM

Hi All,

I am a full time pastor and a part time MA student doing "Kingdom Theology" at WTC (Westminster Theological Centre) which is part of the New Wine Training Partnership (those in the UK will know New Wine).

I bought LBS 4 Silver in Feb and am looking to upgrade / expand my library with the offers on this Christmas.

Knowing I only utilise a fraction of what LB4 can do, I have committed myself between now and the New Year to watch and 'study' Mark Barnes' very helpful series of teaching vidoes.

Having researched over the last week, I am trying to pin myself down to a number of key areas - sometimes the amount of CHOICE is overwhelming. I should add I am an information freak, always wanting to know the last detail before committing to what must then be THE VERY BEST DEAL!

For church use, I am looking to either expand to Gold, which fills out the OL stuff and adds a couple of commentaries, which would be helpful for sermon prep etc, but then I like the look of the Nelson collection which throws in WBC as well as other books. Seeing as we use the NIV on Sundays, the NIVAC looks tempting

As a student, I would prefer more on the early fathers, creeds etc as well as the possibility of journals to broaden my reading, however, most of the college bibliography tends to be post 1990 and on the Fletcher-Loius (college principal) and NT Wright side of the spectrum.

I am also, via the MA growing a greater appreciation for and desire to learn more about our jewish roots etc.

Budget wise I began by looking at the Platinum upgrade, so I guess upto that (I get 30% as a student)

I trust this help in the giving of advice.

I will happily respond to further questions etc.

With many thanks

Chris Rees

Posts 280