Highlighting / Tools Suggestion

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
This post has 4 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 49
Mark North | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Jan 30 2013 4:41 PM

Noob here! I am two weeks old in Logos land.

But I have about 20 years messing with computers. Anything from building a computer, board by board from the ground up, to writing software (years ago) and operating them since the mid 90s. I've used a lot of software. So I will admit, a  certain look and feel is part of my presuppositions here.

My computer isn't slow. It takes too long for the highlighting tool to come up!

Remember noob...but that is important too - ease of use....

After making a mistake highlighting, it isn't easy to figure out how. My problems here

a) you call this tool/operation "highlighting" in one tab/pane and refer to the same thing as annotation when doing a right click on the highlighted text. I figured this out by accident. That's not a good sign of ease of use.

b) I mistakenly used the tool that highlights the text. I intended to change the background. In the highlighting screen, I could find no way of turning things off, in the same place where I turned them on. That's a no no. Also, in desperation, I would have been happy to have just changed the highlighted text back to black, but that was offered at all.

c) I discussed the lack of speed

d) these tools should not only be buried in a nested menu. Tools like this and bookmarks might be nice as little icons on the top of the program somewhere - like the icons in a word processor. This would make transition a lot faster.

I don't want to only "complain". I LOVE THIS THING! If I was just smart enough to use it! I know it has so much under the hood that I haven't even come close to unlocking yet.

Posts 49
Mark North | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jan 30 2013 4:43 PM

typo

should be

After making a mistake highlighting, it isn't easy to figure out how turn it off. My problems are here:

Posts 1870
Forum MVP