Resources for researching Greek and Hebrew

Page 1 of 2 (26 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 25 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 14
Paul DiCicco | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Feb 15 2013 6:58 AM

Hello,

I'm new to Logos and I'm trying to find one or more resources that will allow me to research the original languages beyond just Greek and Hebrew word definitions. I'd like to find a product that will allow me to identify things like Greek and Hebrew verb tenses and preposition/subject relationships for words in any given passage, and I've had difficulty identifying a good resource for this. I don't have formal training in the original languages, but I do like to research them as part of my personal study as well as the teaching I do for my local church. Any assistance you can provide would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Paul

Posts 6264
Denise | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 15 2013 7:08 AM

You didn't indicate your budget (approximately). In theory, absent a budget, one of the greek expositors commentaries would be good or the UBS Handbook is also very usable.

But given your long-term responsibilities an greek grammar which Logos ties to the text is probably the better choice. I use 3 of the better known ones. Many will have suggestions though (for sure!).

Welcome to the forums!!

Posts 14
Paul DiCicco | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 15 2013 7:33 AM

Thank you for the quick reply, DMB. As far as budget is concerned, I'm starting off pretty small. I actually started off with the purchase of the NAS Electronic Bible Library and am hoping to find one or two reference tools to add to it at this point that will allow me to identify, at a minimum, original language verb tenses. For example, I'd like to be able to see in a given verse, not only the Greek or Hebrew word that a given English word was translated from but also the verb tense used in the original language.