BUG: Renaming Active layout

Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
This post has 11 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 2829
Don Awalt | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Feb 16 2013 1:48 PM

1. Create a layout - Save the "Now" layout by clicking "Save as named layout", and name it "Test". 

2. Click on the new Layout name in the left-hand list, so the name "Test" shows in the Title bar.

3. Go into the list of layouts, right click on "Test", and rename it to something else - "New Test".  The name changes there, but the name in the title bar remains "Test".

Posts 25652
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 16 2013 6:44 PM

It also renames the layout(s) on the RHS, but doesn't do the rest i.e. change name in Title bar.

I'm amazed how many elementary bugs exist with Active Layout. It doesn't mind lending the active name to a blank layout (when you Close All), or a new layout generated from Home Page ...

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 10871
Denise | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 16 2013 7:04 PM

I thought 'we' concluded this was not a bug but a design ... the user is simply renaming a layout image for later use. Not saving the present one (which coincidentally is 'now' but could be months earlier)?

That's not to say I disagree with the poster. I think intuitively a user is saving the current (in use) layout; not one in the list only.

Or alternatively I'm completely confused.

EDIT: Ok ... clearly it's the last alternative (after re-reading the above sequence). I'm confused.

"I didn't know God made honky tonk angels."

Posts 25652
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 16 2013 7:46 PM

DMB:
EDIT: Ok ... clearly it's the last alternative (after re-reading the above sequence).

If the active layout is renamed on the RHS exactly the same thing happens i.e. the active layout name in LHS changes but not in the Title bar.

It's smart enough, though, to recognise a situation I pointed out earlier when two layouts have the same name on the RHS

I had an active "new" on the LHS, 2x "new" layouts on the RHS and renamed the most recent to "rename-new". Logos also renamed the active "new" on the LHS and generated/retained an entry for the remaining "new".  I'll leave the alternative scenario for the developers  i.e. what happens if I had renamed the older "new"

DMB:
I'm confused.

I've been confused since the beta 5.0b in December! I still haven't worked out if this is a brilliant concept not easily understood, and therefore poorly  communicated by Logos OR well designed and poorly tested by Logos OR a design not understood by anybody OR ....Smile Anyway, welcome to the ranks of the confused.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 10729
Forum MVP
Jack Caviness | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Feb 17 2013 3:03 AM

Dave Hooton:
Anyway, welcome to the ranks of the confused.

Believe I am also a member of that noble band.

Posts 777
Brisa Davis | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Feb 20 2013 2:03 PM

Don Awalt:

1. Create a layout - Save the "Now" layout by clicking "Save as named layout", and name it "Test". 

2. Click on the new Layout name in the left-hand list, so the name "Test" shows in the Title bar.

3. Go into the list of layouts, right click on "Test", and rename it to something else - "New Test".  The name changes there, but the name in the title bar remains "Test".

I am able to reproduce this issue. I will report this to the Development department. 

Posts 1432
Tonya J Ross | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Mar 13 2013 12:22 PM

This issue should be resolved in 5.1 when it ships to the stable channel. 

Posts 8893
fgh | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Jun 15 2013 1:39 PM

Dave Hooton:
I'm amazed how many elementary bugs exist with Active Layout. It doesn't mind lending the active name to a blank layout (when you Close All)

Indeed. I can still reproduce this on RC1. Is it supposed to be fixed?

I also find that if you Rename an active layout on the left side, it now behaves properly, but if you Rename it on the right side (from the named snapshot), it doesn't get renamed, you get a new, inactive, one instead. Does Logos acknowledge that as a bug, is it supposed to be fixed, or do they call it "design"?

(There are so many Active Layout threads that I have no overview over them any more, especially as most of them have been in the beta forum.)

"The Christian way of life isn't so much an assignment to be performed, as a gift to be received."  Wilfrid Stinissen

Mac Pro OS 10.9.

Posts 25652
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jun 16 2013 12:59 AM

fgh:
Indeed. I can still reproduce this on RC1. Is it supposed to be fixed?

It is fixed in v5.0b stable and 5.1 beta (Windows) i.e. there is no layout name in the window

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 25652
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jun 16 2013 2:44 AM

fgh:
I also find that if you Rename an active layout on the left side, it now behaves properly, but if you Rename it on the right side (from the named snapshot), it doesn't get renamed, you get a new, inactive, one instead.

That is fixed in Windows, except when there is more than one snapshot with the same name!

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 10729
Forum MVP
Jack Caviness | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jun 16 2013 3:53 AM

fgh:
I also find that if you Rename an active layout on the left side, it now behaves properly, but if you Rename it on the right side (from the named snapshot), it doesn't get renamed, you get a new, inactive, one instead.

Worked correctly for me 5.1 RC-1 Mac. Was able to create, rename from both right and left side of the layout menu, and the layout name changed in the title bar each time.

Noting Dave's post about multiple snapshots. Did you have more than one snapshot with the same name when you tried this on the right hand side?

Posts 8893
fgh | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Jun 16 2013 6:06 AM

Dave Hooton:

fgh:
Indeed. I can still reproduce this on RC1. Is it supposed to be fixed?

It is fixed in v5.0b stable and 5.1 beta (Windows) i.e. there is no layout name in the window

Seems I was confusing Close All by Opt-Cmd-W and by right-click on a tab. I rarely use the right-click one, and I mostly use only one full-screen panel, so I've never consciously noticed the differences between them:

  • Opt-Cmd-W does indeed remove the layout name. Right-click does not.
  • Opt-Cmd-W closes all tabs, all panels, and all windows. Right-click only closes the tabs of that one panel (though for me that generally makes it look exactly the same, apart from the layout name which I haven't yet gotten used to look for.)
  • One can only be applied by a keyboard shortcut. One can only be applied by a right-click. 

This isn't very intuitive. At the very least, Close All Panels + shortcut should be in the File menu dropdown, where new users can find out about it. Plus it ought to be in the right-click menu, so that one can see that these are two different commands, not two ways to invoke the same command. Plus Close All Tabs ought to get a shortcut of its own.

Dave Hooton:
That is fixed in Windows, except when there is more than one snapshot with the same name!

I didn't think I had more than one, but I guess I must have, because it seems to work now. Thanks for figuring it out.

"The Christian way of life isn't so much an assignment to be performed, as a gift to be received."  Wilfrid Stinissen

Mac Pro OS 10.9.

Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS