Bug: Picking up a non-local Layout as Active

Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
This post has 10 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 24919
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, May 14 2013 3:11 PM

My Laptop (Stable) opened Logos to a Desktop layout as below:  (jpg as gif does not work)

Both systems startup to a Local layout.

The absence of a local App Closed layout for Laptop is somewhat bizarre. [but note the one dated Sat 9:18pm. EDIT: it is local to Laptop Beta)]

The last action I had performed was Update to current snapshot against Laptop 5.A, so it seems reasonable that the Laptop 5.A layout should have been opened in these circumstances.

Here's the Desktop Layouts:

And here's the Laptop (Beta) - opened after saving Laptop 5.A layout at 0807 on Laptop (Stable)

Why is App Closed @ 0739 Sunday local to Laptop (Beta) and Desktop?

Why is Laptop 5.A @ 0802 Yesterday missing from Laptop (Beta)?

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 24919
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, May 17 2013 6:26 AM

This isn't going away, folks.

My Laptop (Stable) just picked up a layout Laptop Beta from my beta installation in similar circumstances i.e. a non-local layout.

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 27673
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, May 17 2013 6:30 AM

Dave Hooton:
This isn't going away, folks.

I have had similar problems in the past (during this beta cycle), where my iMac or MacBook would pick up the other one's layout…  I ended up deleting all of my layouts and starting over with computer centric names (was not a big deal for me), and have not experienced this recently since. If it happens again, I'll will let you know.

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 27673
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, May 17 2013 12:09 PM

alabama24:
If it happens again, I'll will let you know.

Well, it did today! In the screen shot, notice that the layout is titled "iMac Basic"... the problem is that my layout from my MacBook opened instead. Also notice the warning in the screen shot. This was a personal book that I was creating on my laptop! It has never been opened on my desktop. 

Here is what my preference is set to:

I'm in a huge hurry... Hopefully the logs are right:

2845.LogosLogs.20130517-150400.zip

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 242
Kelly Flones | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, May 20 2013 2:11 PM

There is an active case for this issue, I have added a link to this thread.

Posts 27673
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 12 2013 5:41 AM

Here are some more logs Kelly:

7127.LogosLogs.20130612-081222.zip

The first screen shot is what loaded. The second screen shot is the layout it should have loaded.

OSX & iOS | Logs |  Install

Posts 1471
Angela Murashov | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jul 19 2013 9:12 AM

Dave Hooton:

Why is App Closed @ 0739 Sunday local to Laptop (Beta) and Desktop?

Why is Laptop 5.A @ 0802 Yesterday missing from Laptop (Beta)?

This will be fixed in 5.1a Beta 1.

Posts 24919
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jul 26 2013 6:24 AM

Dave Hooton:

This isn't going away, folks.

My Laptop (Stable) just picked up a layout Laptop Beta from my beta installation in similar circumstances i.e. a non-local layout.

This situation repeated as Beta 2 picked up a recent Stable (non-local) layout and name because, presumably there was no local App Closed layout for the Beta. But there was an older (local) Beta Layout from July 12!

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 195
LogosEmployee
Seth Copeland | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jul 26 2013 4:02 PM

Dave Hooton:

This situation repeated as Beta 2 picked up a recent Stable (non-local) layout and name because, presumably there was no local App Closed layout for the Beta. But there was an older (local) Beta Layout from July 12!

I'm not exactly sure what the problem still is. But maybe if I give some details as to what happened to cause the earlier issues, and how we've fixed them it would help.

We only ever show 10 application closed layouts. When a new one is created, we would overwrite the data for the oldest one on your machine. The problem with this was what if you didn't have time to sync up that change, and on your other machine, when it shut down it also overwrote the same last one. This caused a conflict on the server, and it would simply pick the latest date of the layout. So your last local app closed layout, for the machine who shutdown earlier was lost.

So to make sure that didn't happen again, each local machine will have 10 application closed layouts, but only the newest 10 from all the layouts from all synced machines will every be available in the layouts menu.

The image not being displayed, or displayed wrongly, has to do with the fact we simply don't sync the image, so during conflicts, and other things, we may not have deleted the stale image, or deleted a stale image but the conflict didn't provide the right image.

Does that answer any questions?

Regards,

Seth

Posts 24919
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Jul 26 2013 4:17 PM

Seth Copeland:
I'm not exactly sure what the problem still is. But maybe if I give some details as to what happened to cause the earlier issues, and how we've fixed them it would help.

The issue I'm reporting is the one illustrated in my first post, which was ignored as a bug. There is no local App Closed to use so a non-local one is used instead, giving me an inappropriate layout. A named local layout is available (from July 12) but why wasn't it used as per my Setting?

Dave
===

Windows & Android

Posts 195
LogosEmployee
Seth Copeland | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Jul 30 2013 3:05 PM

Dave Hooton:

The issue I'm reporting is the one illustrated in my first post, which was ignored as a bug. There is no local App Closed to use so a non-local one is used instead, giving me an inappropriate layout. A named local layout is available (from July 12) but why wasn't it used as per my Setting?

That is a good point and does seem like a bug. I'm guessing the assumption was "last local", mean last local application closed layout, which can be nothing if it has been deleted via sync on a different client. I'll have to investigate more to find out what the right solution is.

Page 1 of 1 (11 items) | RSS