Top Arminian based commentary on the book of Romans

Page 1 of 5 (95 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next >
This post has 94 Replies | 7 Followers

Posts 1435
Wild Eagle | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Aug 19 2013 2:03 PM

I am studying the book of Romans. So far, the top commentaries I looked lean toward Calvinism. I would really like to see Arminian view point (Especially Romans 9-11), Can anyone suggest which commentary I should use.

PS: I am looking more scholarly commentary rather than devotional... 

"No man is greater than his prayer life. The pastor who is not praying is playing; the people who are not praying are straying." Leonard Ravenhill 

Posts 10600
Forum MVP
Jack Caviness | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Aug 19 2013 2:08 PM

Have 3 in my library, but cannot vouch for their scholarly level.

Barrett, C. K. The Epistle to the Romans. Rev. ed. Black’s New Testament Commentary. London: Continuum, 1991.

Bence, Clarence L. Romans: A Bible Commentary in the Wesleyan Tradition. Indianapolis, IN: Wesleyan Publishing House, 1996.

Wesley, John. Explanatory Notes Upon the New Testament. Fourth American Edition. New York: J. Soule and T. Mason, 1818.

Could isolate these because of the Denomination collection advice posted on these forums recently. If necessary, I can trace that for you.

Posts 247
Gary Osborne | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Aug 19 2013 2:42 PM

By far the best Arminian-based commentary on Romans would be Adam Clarke's Commentary.  Unfortunately it's been languishing in Community Pricing (in other words its unavailable at this time) for quite a while now.

Posts 10130
Forum MVP
NB.Mick | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Aug 19 2013 2:55 PM

You will find non-calvinist commentaries at http://www.squidoo.com/arminiancommentaries (somehow the site seems broken currently, at least for my Chrome browser). Some that come to mind: 

I don't know if these are "scholarly" as you define it....

Running Logos 8 latest beta version on Win 10

Posts 1384