Bug:Logos forgets users preferences

Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
This post has 14 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Jun 24 2014 11:06 PM

Un-installed and reinstalled the software.

All of the options (with the exception of the lectionary) were selected. Most of them were not selected previously.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 25111
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 1:24 AM

Come on Lynden, give us a few more details!

What version of Logos? What preferences (Program Settings, Home)?

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 4:04 AM

Latest Stable release.

The settings for the home page under features were all selected except Lectionary.

That is not the way I had it.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 4:50 AM

It also opens to the last layout. That is not my preference.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 10132
Forum MVP
NB.Mick | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 5:05 AM

Lynden Williams:

Un-installed and reinstalled the software.

All of the options (with the exception of the lectionary) were selected. Most of them were not selected previously.

Lynden: but wouldn't you expect the system to revert to default values for all preferences when you uninstall and reinstall? For me, it's a different kind of thing when I only install a new version over the existing version (such as with a new beta), but when I uninstall and reinstall the application should behave like it was never installed. Or did I misunderstand you?

 

Running Logos 8 latest beta version on Win 10

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 5:10 AM

You understood correctly, however the preferences from the other computer should have been carried over.

This is the beta that was uninstalled and put on the stable computer. My other computer is on the stable channel.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 8893
fgh | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 5:14 AM

NB.Mick:
when I uninstall and reinstall the application should behave like it was never installed

Really? So if your hard drive fails and you buy a new computer, you'd be happy to lose all your notes and highlights? I think not... Smile

"The Christian way of life isn't so much an assignment to be performed, as a gift to be received."  Wilfrid Stinissen

Mac Pro OS 10.9.

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 5:23 AM

fgh:

NB.Mick:
when I uninstall and reinstall the application should behave like it was never installed

Really? So if your hard drive fails and you buy a new computer, you'd be happy to lose all your notes and highlights? I think not... Smile

Notes and everything is there, just home page preference and startup options.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 10132
Forum MVP
NB.Mick | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 5:48 AM

fgh:

NB.Mick:
when I uninstall and reinstall the application should behave like it was never installed

Really? So if your hard drive fails and you buy a new computer, you'd be happy to lose all your notes and highlights? I think not... Smile

This is a very different scenario. But actually it's much worse - since I replaced my HD with a SSD, some uninstalled and reinstalled programs refuse to behave like they were never installed - it seems they leave traces somewhere that include a reference to the HD they were installed on and now they "think" they are a illegitimate copy (I can understand people that use DRM-freeDrinks stuff only to avoid such nuisances).

Regarding Logos, I know that my notes and highlights and book licences are synced via the cloud and thus I don't lose them this way. But I didn't uninstall and reinstall Logos, the image copy worked for it (which I expect).

But you are mixing up preferences with created documents. I'd fully expect that if I uninstall and reinstall Microsoft Word, my preferences for replacing standard quotes by smart quotes and what to display on the ribbon and if/how often to auto-save etc. will revert to factory default - but it won't delete my documents.

Let's assume there is a certain combination of preferences that crash the system on startup. Unless uninstall/reinstall resets these to the factory default, you're very badly out of luck (oh for the days where it sufficed to rename one *.ini-file to restore factory defaults on a program). In the case of going back from beta to a stable release it's even worse, since the preferences on the beta may only work on this version.

Running Logos 8 latest beta version on Win 10

Posts 8893
fgh | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 6:14 AM

I only use one computer, so I know little about syncing, but don't most preferences sync? Everything that syncs between computers is bound to also sync from one installation to the next.

But you're definitely right about some preferences at least. I didn't think of it, but the startup option is one preference that is definitely not supposed to sync. You're supposed to be able to open to one layout on your tiny laptop, and another on your huge desktop monitor.

"The Christian way of life isn't so much an assignment to be performed, as a gift to be received."  Wilfrid Stinissen

Mac Pro OS 10.9.

Posts 27041
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 1:19 PM

Lynden, how long did you allow for it to sync? I ask only because this is either a regression or an error in my (biological) memory.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 25111
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 2:21 PM

Lynden Williams:
You understood correctly, however the preferences from the other computer should have been carried over.

In general, I haven't experienced a situation where preferences did not sync, including uninstall/reinstall. Reverting to stable from a beta release may be different and Logos should comment on this.

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 7:28 PM

I used the stable channel in the afternoon, and uninstalled the software from the computer that was on the beta channel.

Reinstalled the stable on the Beta machine.

The software loaded and I did a scan command after the homepage came up.As far as I know, all syncing was complete, just a matter of indexing from what I remember.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Posts 8087
LogosEmployee

If the home page preferences haven't synced when the app is opened, the home page may revert to the default settings (just for that session). Does restarting the app show the correct sections in the Home Page? (Or did you change them immediately when you noticed the problem, which would have overwritten the preferences that were still syncing.)

Posts 6489
Forum MVP
Lynden Williams | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Jun 25 2014 7:50 PM

I changed them manually.

Everything ever written in Religion and Theology formatted for Logos Bible Software.Logos Youtube Channel

Page 1 of 1 (15 items) | RSS