Oh Sifra and Sifre, where art thou?

Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
This post has 11 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 3322
Francis | Forum Activity | Posted: Tue, Nov 11 2014 4:07 AM

I am still learning about the many terms and divisions of Jewish literature and am very frustrated right now because, I have bought MANY resources (and primary sources) but, as I am reading a book that keeps alluding to the Sifra (and sometimes to Sifre), I can't seem to find them in any of my resources. Does Logos have them and if so, where?

Posts 1888
John Fidel | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 11 2014 5:01 AM

This passage is actually a baraita (see p. 500) that introduces the Sifra, a midrashic work interpreting the Book of Leviticus that primarily relates to the Temple ritual.

1 Ronald L. Eisenberg, The JPS Guide to Jewish Traditions, 1st ed. (Philadelphia: The Jewish Publication Society, 2004), 404.

And

Rabbinic literature. The massive body of literature containing opinions attributed to various Jewish teachers considered part of the rabbinic movement; the bulk of the material used in this commentary is from the first few centuries a.d. Although all the written sources and most of the rabbis they cite are later than the New Testament, this literature is useful to illustrate one stream of Jewish tradition. Rabbinic works include the Mishnah, Tosefta, Babylonian and Palestinian Talmuds, Mekilta on Exodus, Sifra on Leviticus, and Sifre on Numbers and Deuteronomy.

1 Craig S. Keener, The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament (Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1993).

Posts 3322
Francis | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 11 2014 5:04 AM

I do find references to the Sifra and Sifre. What I am asking is whether and where these sources are available in Logos.

Posts 1888
John Fidel | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 11 2014 5:05 AM

Sorry, not in my library.

Posts 533
Ryan | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Nov 11 2014 5:17 AM